Throwback Poem-Off: Knowing [original poem]

in #poetry6 years ago

The turns have been easy for a few, but before too long - we won't know what to do!
As the store of old-school verses dissipate, there's only one way left to participate.
Soon to keep up the good fight, we'll have to turn to pen and paper, and remember how to write!

But for now... the Poem-Off continues!!

Read @mitchelljaworski's last entry here: Fighting for Me

And my response below...

people-3147853_640.jpg
source

Knowing

I've known you before
In a million little things
Of a thousand different people,
And yet the memories of them
Have fled now - vanished
In the new light you bring.

So familiar to me,
All your little ways
A smile, a smell, a taste.
Though your kiss was new -
Different, sweet, tender,
Perfect.

But I know not yet
So soon in seeing
To what end all this beauty will go.
Is this just another lesson to learn,
Another heartache to grow from?
How close to my soul can another come
Before the leaving would be unbearable?
Will you be the one who stays
To forever keep the memories your own?

rsz_screen_shot_2017-09-02_at_103602_pm.png

What's a poem-off, you ask? Just a little thang that started a little bit ago. I read a poem that @mitchelljaworski posted, from his old-school writing days. It reminded me of all of my old-school poems, so I challenged him to see if we could go turn-for-turn and repost long lost words from the vaults of time. No rules apply, and new stuff might just make the mix. Check it out, y'all. Follow the links down the rabbit hole...

Thanks for visiting

rsz_uniwhisp02.png

Here are some of my other poems:
Kiss * Clouds of September * Dammed Love * Sunset Blessings * Fadings of Fall * The Friday Blues * Passion Flower * Defining Love * The Way * Sing On * Heartsong * Desire * Trust Again * Solstice Rain * Dreamtime * Morning Mist * Kintsukuroi * Dead Dog’s Lie * Synchronicity * From Darkness * Love’s Last Throes * For Love of the Pub

For posts on emotions, nature, poetry, and scotch,

come follow my blog!

Sort:  

Ending of this poem is beautiful.

Will you be the one who stays
To forever keep the memories your own?

I hope you fall in love again and start writing poems again. I love the emotions, the memories, and curiosity that arise from reading your poem.

Thanks Kubby! Yeah, falling in love is truly one of the best things in life. It's the landing in heartbreak that I'm not so fond of... ;)

Very nice Ms. Uni....my response will be delayed as all my poems are on my other laptop. I shall return home Tuesday and see if I can find a worthy piece of writing. :-)

We've gotten very formal here, it seems. Thank you for your kind words, Mr. Mitch; safe travels, and I await your response. ;)

Formal..lol. How about we go with respectful? Yeah that works! ;-p

That does work, you're right. bows humbly

lovely poem :) thanks for sharing

So bittersweet, how memories come flooding back, then recede with time like the waves of the ocean. Bittersweet, and wonderfully written! Thanks for sharing this lovely writing with us in #steemitbloggers 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55