Steemit Slam #1 Contest Entry - Trust AgainsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #slam7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for @poetrytrail's contest announced in this post. - A poem on the topic of Leaving, entitled Trust Again


To see a thing
That has to be
And know it good
Is still

Not quite enough
To quell the urge
To fight it once
Again

When beauty calls
In such a way
It's precious true
And yet

I hestitate
From full embrace
In fear of what's
Ahead

For even though
The way is right
The fact is that
It hurts

I walk this road
To better lands
And always know
The choice

This journey new
Will test the strength
I claim to have
Inside

To face my foe
And greet the Dawn
Means leaving Night
Behind

To see a thing
And know it good
Although it hurts
The heart

Means moving on
Despite the pain
And having faith
In Life

20161204_172546.jpg


Thanks for reading!

rsz_uniwhisp02.png Logo courtesy of @theDGT (Thanks! You rock!)

For cool blogs on scotch, poetry, and life, Follow me!

Sort:  

Oh yes! To face the fear and fight
Beautiful and raw. Thank you for sharing.

Nice, I liked how you kept the phrases short and used some unconventional sentence order. Also I really like the conclusion of the sentiment to have faith in life and move through the hurt.

Thanks @d-pend! I wrote this one a long time ago originally. It was never really finished though, until I dusted it off and rewrote a few lines just now. I like the positive ending as well...not so common usually in my poems! Thanks for the feedback and upvote. :)

A beautiful poem @uniwhisp. It can be difficult making the right choices in life especially when the wrong ones are familiar and comfortable. To make the choice between two paths and knowing that you are taking the right one despite how difficult it looks to traverse can be difficult and more than most of us are willing to accept.

Have a great day and good luck in the contest! :{)

Hi @tonyr! Thanks for your comment and good words! (And upvote!) It's a common situation we all usually find ourselves in at one point or another. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50