Poetwisdom #1: DesiresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetwisdom7 years ago (edited)

Poetwisdom is a contest offered by @drouncil, explained in this post. The theme for this week's contest is Mysteries of the Universe. Here is my entry, entitled Desire


What is it of desire
That lingers in the longing,
And in the anguish drawing
From bitterness to sweet?

A fine and fickle balance,
Passion’s paradox infused,
Dance of delicate resistance
Pervading every mood.

The wanting and the waiting,
Cycling circles like the moon,
A prayer for resolution -
But god forbid too soon.

Delight in desperation,
Chains that set us free
To love and feel and fight,
And fully live this dream.

file4151243771406.jpg* morguefile image


Thanks for reading!

rsz_uniwhisp02.png Logo courtesy of @theDGT (Thanks! You rock!)

For cool blogs on scotch, poetry, and life...Follow me!

Sort:  

Wow .. I felt the aching bitter sweet..very emotive execution ❤ resteemed

Thank you so much! :)

Wow, a rhyming poem that actually has good flow and doesn't come off as cheesy (they are rare) lol. Anyway I enjoyed your use of alliteration and the reason I made that first remark is it was quite pleasant to read the poem in my head because it was easy to discern where to pause and phrase the stanzas. So, well done!

Haha, thanks d-pend! They are tricky. I remember learning about bardic poetry when I was in Ireland, and they were rarely concerned about the end of the words rhyming as long as the middle sounds did. This, I think, is helpful in rhyming without the cheese. :D I'm glad you liked it; thanks for the comment and upvote!

My current punishment is desire and you expressed my agony so well. Thank you!

Current punishment!?! I also suffer from this state; I empathize! Thanks for reading and commenting! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92