Runaway Rhymes: Working For The MoneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

Working For The Money

This is my entry for the Runaway Rhymes #3 competition run by @hopehuggs. More details can be found here.


Working for the money
Must pay my bills
These blues that I'm feeling
Must take my pills
Get up in the morning
But I'm a night owl you see
Forced to conform
And become but a reflection of me
Tappity tap on the keyboard
Stare blank at the screen
I smell boss odour behind me
His time to demean
"You're late once again"
He pointed his finger at me
"A minute at most"
I did say gingerly
He walked off in a huff
I stared back at the screen
Do I really need this job
As much as it seems?
I dreamed of an island
A beach and a girl
The day of release
"Go shove your job" I will yell.

enter image description here


This poetry is my own work, written for Steemit
Image Credit: Unsplash.com


Thank you for taking the time to read this poem. If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment. Follow Me


Earlier Poetry
Homecoming Part 1 Part 2 Part 3
The Ocean Is Calling
I Built a World
One More Time Around the Sun
The Poets Lament
The Game
Look Into My Eyes/The Devil With the Fire in its Eyes
Dancing With the Creatures of the Night
When the War Is Over
Life - Meaning, Madness, and the Mundane
Phoenix Rises
Dreams of Innocence
Burn It Down
Epic
The Heart of the Shadow
To Soar With Grace
The Beauty of Silence
Sort:  

haha cool poetry! keep it up :)

Thank you, glad you liked it.

I love it. Has a great flow to it.

Thank you so much. The words just flowed out - it was cathartic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34