Homecoming Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

Homecoming Part 1

The moment counts like a breathing soul
Like a delivered parcel left on its own
And the winding back to a forgotten home

Nothing is as it seems
This was my home
Now so obscene
Yet lingers like a dream

There's future out there all around
But the past weighs heavy and holds me down
Unfinished business brings me back to town

Nothing is as it seems
Time to awaken from this dream

enter image description here


This poetry is my own work, written for Steemit
Image Credit: Unsplash.com


Thank you for taking the time to read this poem. If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment. Follow Me


Earlier Poetry
The Ocean Is Calling
I Built a World
One More Time Around the Sun
The Poets Lament
The Game
Look Into My Eyes/The Devil With the Fire in its Eyes
Dancing With the Creatures of the Night
When the War Is Over
Life - Meaning, Madness, and the Mundane
Phoenix Rises
Dreams of Innocence
Burn It Down
Epic
The Heart of the Shadow
To Soar With Grace
The Beauty of Silence
Sort:  

Nicely done! The words really tug on the heartstrings, and has a very lyrical feel to it. It reminds me of a "homecoming" post I wrote a while back, but yours is packaged more neatly. Keep up the great work :D

Thanks @jedau, I appreciate the comment. It felt lyrical to me also as I wrote it, so I'm glad it read that way too.

Awesome! I'm glad it was intentional. Passion really shone through there.

You can never really go back once you've gone, all the place are best preserved in our memory. Enjoyed your poem look forward to part 2.

As an exploration of a theme it intrigues me, both physically and psychologically. Even our memories can betray us. But yes I agree, one can't go back. Thanks for your comment.

Love your poem!

Thanks @edje, I appreciate you letting me know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35