Homecoming Part 3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

Homecoming Part 3

Part 3 in a 3 part series. Part 1 can be found here. Part 2 can be found here.

“The fear of death is the beginning of slavery.”
Robert Anton Wilson

This the third and final part of the Homecoming series. I wanted to explore the concept of alienation, confusion, disaffection, and longing, from a psychological, and dare I say it, spiritual perspective. These are themes that show up in many of my writings, but I was trying to take a more specific approach to the topic and look at it from the perspective of someone who feels afflicted with a sense that there is a bigger picture that seeks to be revealed. He can feel it all around, but the more he seeks it out the further away it appears to be. One part of him pleads with himself to drop it and live a "normal" life, and forget this elusive search for meaning. But it has yet to happen. This is the "curse" referred to.

It is not intended to be dark or depressing, but an attempt to reveal the beauty that hides in plain sight. It's just hard to see it if you don't know where to look.

enter image description here


This poetry is my own work, written for Steemit
Image Credit: Unsplash.com (original image) - derived image is my own work.


Thank you for taking the time to read this poem. If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment. Follow Me


Earlier Poetry
The Ocean Is Calling
I Built a World
One More Time Around the Sun
The Poets Lament
The Game
Look Into My Eyes/The Devil With the Fire in its Eyes
Dancing With the Creatures of the Night
When the War Is Over
Life - Meaning, Madness, and the Mundane
Phoenix Rises
Dreams of Innocence
Burn It Down
Epic
The Heart of the Shadow
To Soar With Grace
The Beauty of Silence
Sort:  

lovely world you draw with words my friend. what do you think is on the other side of time? i imagine it something like.. being capable of everything while knowing nothing. hmm.. :)

Thank you for your comment. I try to imagine the other side of time, but I'm not sure what is there. Can the mind, which loves time, consider such a thing? Perhaps it is like you suggested. It's highly possible. I do like to consider such things, but I never fully come to a conclusion.

I like to think of having no conclusion as being a part of the answer ;)

That's my non-conclusion too!

that probably means we're friends or something! :D

lol :) greetings friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38