Epic [Original Poetry]

in #poetry8 years ago

EPIC


Some are born to live the life

Of simple moments unknown to strife

That is not I who was born to dare

To rise up and place all the Gods in my care


Born to a lineage of mayhem and war

Some souls were delivered some left on the floor

But the past is my measure, my yardstick of truth

Bred to fight war since the days of my youth


My lands have expanded from sword and from force

In victory how could I know much remorse?

But set off to sweep all aside from my ways

That my name be remembered until the Earth's dying day


Travelled down valleys and over high mountain range

In search of a battle as war is my stage

Sailed over vast oceans in search of some more

That my name shall be feared, and feared by them all


I've slain every hero who ventured my way

Those seeking the glory of replacing my name

But none have known victory as I stand here today

As my armies shall march out, none shall stand in their way


This throne has known power and that power is mine

But I can't sit on my laurels in this prison confined

I'll battle my demons, I will slay one and all

But I can't conquer he who is mightiest of all


I've lived a long life, for one who sought war

Slain many warriors, still they kept sending more

But death kept his distance and watched from afar

Old age is my nemesis who has waited to spar


I leave all this to someone who carries my name

Who gloried in fortune from all of my fame

But I have breathed meaning upon all of my life

And death sits with me as I fade like the night 

________________________________________________________ 

Some of my earlier poetry:

True Love Have I Known

The Heart of the Shadow

The Mark of Cain

To Soar With Grace

The Beauty of Silence

Thank you for taking the time to read this poetry. 

If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment. I try to respond to all comments.

Follow Me. 

Sort:  

I do like the narrative thread in your poems, makes you keep on reading!

That's very good to hear @meesterboom. I was trying to condense an Epic type Fantasy story to poem form and length. I appreciate your comment.

That's exactly the feeling I had, being obsessed with empire building fantasy sagas. This was very much a Emperor's soliloquy.

Thanks, I'm glad that you got that feeling from it also.

Thank you, I enjoyed reading very much.

Thank you for reading, and for your thoughts. I appreciate it.

Nice imagery. Its true that no matter how mighty the sword, time shall strike us all down. Thank you for sharing this poem with our community. :)

Thank you @alchemage for your comment. Yes, time is the victor of all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34