The Beauty of Silence (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

I was inspired to write this original poem after reading the following words From Rumi:

“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing there is a field. I'll meet you there. When the soul lies down in that grass the world is too full to talk about.” Rumi 

The Beauty of Silence

There was a beauty in the silence around me

A silence sent wrapped in golden dreams

A field lay there before me

A twilight of madness and empty sounds

Chaos attempted a reminder, a journey into its lost domain

But battle weary thoughts beside me

Assuring that this silence remain

A music played gently deep within me

A silent song that showed the way


I sat silently and watched the world around me

Watched as the world hurried by

Curious about the energy all around me

Observing the chaos make patterns and lines through my field of vision

I was unperturbed. I just observed

Observing as darkness gave birth to light

As stillness gave birth to flight

As a maddening scream played all around

But I was in silence, though I heard the sound


I have no idea about right or wrong

Nor if there were ever a time where I belong

But the need to belong is just a dream

Born from the madness, the chaos, the incessant scream

A fixed idea set in time

Playing round and round, time and again

But silence is its own reward, bringing forth magic

Bringing forth joy

As the sun settles westward, and the silence settles within

Sort:  

I like this, great poem! -upvoted

Thank you for your feedback and support. It's appreciated.

Sometimes silence does have its beauty!

If we know how to enjoy it and appreciate it, for sure.

Lovely poem. Poetry really is more than an art, it is life. It is therapeutic. You might want to read my poem as well about fear @ https://steemit.com/life/@delphia16/the-power-of-fear-an-original-poem .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46