Runaway Rhymes: I Built a World (Original Poetry)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

enter image description here

This is my entry for @hopehuggs poetry competition (link), also listed in the comments section of that post, per the rules.


I Built a World

I built a world on the dreams of others
And woke to find my world lay smothered
I looked around to find a way
To start from scratch, to start again

Unable to recognise all I saw
I set out to wander in search of more
I've heard the rules, I know them all
It's those chains that lead me out the door

I stopped to question why it is this way
Has madness ruled from the very first day?
Or is the world made different for each of us?
Should I learn not to make a fuss?

The gods of old; I knew them well
But if they knew me then I could not tell
But searching for deeper; plants lead the way
A voice that lay silent will learn what to say

Is freedom a notion found everywhere
Or is a mind so tortured not found there?
If life is for living then live it one should
I'd live everyday if only I could

But an optimist is found in this mind that I own
I planted its seed and now it has grown
Try once more to move on from the past
And cherish each day like it were my last

enter image description here

This poetry is my own work, written for Steemit
Image Credit: Pixabay.com


Thank you for taking the time to read this poem.
If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment.
Follow Me


Earlier Poetry

One More Time Around the Sun
The Poets Lament
The Game
Look Into My Eyes/The Devil With the Fire in its Eyes
Dancing With the Creatures of the Night
When the War Is Over
Life - Meaning, Madness, and the Mundane
Phoenix Rises
Dreams of Innocence
Burn It Down
Epic
The Heart of the Shadow
To Soar With Grace
The Beauty of Silence

Sort:  

One day at a time, make them count.

Yes, agreed. Yesterday's gone, time to move on, make something on today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38