POETRY: The Poet's LamentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

100% SP Payout

Poets Lament

THE POET'S LAMENT

Coloured meter finds a rhythm it knows
While written words play along for a show
Carving meaning to fit a thought I had
Box it in or let it out; I go mad

Title has me unsure of any more
Blankness rises to greet me at the door
Throw down some cliches and hope for the best
Do I emphasise this word or a rest?

Big ideas, swirling around my head
When I write they translate to junk instead
Fishing for a hook to pin my hopes on
A metaphor before this goes so wrong

A pedestal I see upon the page
Awaits my standing to express my rage
Or is it solace I wish to express?
Upon this page my words appear a mess

But time is of the essence; I am told
I was young when I started, now I'm old
I wanted to bedazzle with my words
A destination I will move towards

Why is it some days my thoughts sink like lead?
All these hopes I had; they all lay here dead
Try once more; formulate a magic plan
But don't look; I stand upon shifting sand

Mesmerised by the blank page within sight
To come up with a first draft; metered tight
And celebrate my wordy afterglow
But the tap is off; words to me don't flow

Crumpled paper in the bin you shall dwell
Wordless voice; a Poet laments in hell
Or does he overemphasise his pain?
This is just how the Poet plays his game


This poetry is my own work, written for Steemit
Image Credit: Unsplash.com


Thank you for taking the time to read this poem.
If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment.
Follow Me


PoetryFiction
The GameBad Trip part 1 ALSO: [part 2][part 3][part 4][part 5][part 6][part 7][part 8][part 9]
Poetry Slam Challenge 7 - Look Into My Eyes / The Devil With the Fire in its EyesThe Ghosts of Emmett Hill part 1 ALSO: [part 2] [part 3] [part 4]
Dancing With the Creatures of the NightBang Bang You're Dead
When the War Is OverWhere Did the Time Go?
Life - Meaning, Madness, and the MundaneI Think I've Remembered This Before
Phoenix RisesSaved By The Rain
Dreams of Innocence
Burn It Down
Epic
The Heart of the Shadow
The Mark of Cain
To Soar With Grace
The Beauty of Silence
Sort:  

This is really cool you are doing this--writing and keeping an anthology of all your stuff. What a neat time capsule. As well as an opportunity to express and invite others to do the same.

Thank you @littlescribe. I didn't want older work to get lost in the system, so to speak. I had noticed others use it so I joined in. I think it highlights a body of work for people who are interested in reading more.

Thanks for reading and commenting, always appreciated.

Deep and accurate for the artist, what is good expression, or even accurate expression of our thoughts? you captured it

Thank you for your comment. I started writing something else, and got frustrated. So decided to write about my frustrations. Irony to the rescue. Glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38