Poetry Slam Challenge #2: To Soar With Grace

in #poetryslamtwo8 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the second Poetry Slam contest, of which the theme is Freedom (link). Many thanks to those who have organised this.

_________________________________________


In wayward breaths

I searched forlorn

To find such truths

And not be torn

By sights unseen

Torn asunder

In bitter dreams

Mine to plunder


To understand

What this could mean

These bars I hold

Not what they seem

Defined by words

Confined by thoughts

Every vessel

In every port


I've travelled far

But never here

Pushed past reason

And into fear

The battleground

My resting place

But there's no rest

Within this space


And you should hear

What I have heard

The God of War

Did take his turn

To place his mark

Upon my soul

“You will die

Before you know”


I chose my own

And nothing more

Chained in madness

In chains of lore

In search of dreams

I hold them here

To soar with grace

To conquer fear

_____________________________________________________________________

The photographs contained within this poem are all my own work.

Sort:  

I like this a lot, it is drenched in symbolism!

Thank you @meesterbloom, for letting me know your thoughts. Drenched yes, hopefully not drowning in it :)

This is a very beautiful piece of work!

As far as the contest goes, though, I just want to give you a heads up that original photography or art was part of the original criteria and I'd hate to see this lose any points in the original associated imagery category :)

Thank you so much for participating, this is an awesome entry!

These are used with permission from Pixabay. Is that not what was meant? Sorry if I have misunderstood. Otherwise if perhaps I can change them before the deadline.

I apologise, I misunderstood the initial post. It was clear on second reading! I have removed the initial photos (obtained from Pixabay), and replaced them with my own photos. Thanks for highlighting this for me. Hope that helps.

And thank you for your feedback on my poem. It means a lot to me.

Hey sorry, I'm at work and can only check in every so often. The photos are great! I already upvoted because I loved the poem so I can't upvote again, but I'm glad you updated the pictures. It's before the deadline, so you're all good :)

Fixed mine just now. Didn't remember that sorry.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34