[Original Poetry] Unrequited

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

Unrequited

It could have been something
That built up in waves
Up from the depths to fill up my days
Emerging from places left hidden away
Presented forlornly with no more delay
It should have been something
Instead of this loss
But I'm left here in pieces to count out the cost

The ideas in my head
I had lost control of them all
They grew past the boundaries
That kept them in store
I painted a picture, an image released
Now left with my mind, this unruly beast

Left here to hold onto what never really was
Placed a bet on the wrong side and gave it all that I've got
And it's all that I had
Until I pick up the pieces
Until I pick up the remnants
And wake to a new day
And try it all over again

enter image description here


This poetry is my own work, written for Steemit
Image Credit: Unsplash.com


Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment. Follow Me


Earlier Poetry
Bad Trip - The Poem
Working For the Money
Homecoming Part 1
Homecoming Part 2
Homecoming Part 3
The Ocean Is Calling
I Built a World
One More Time Around the Sun
The Poets Lament
Look Into My Eyes/The Devil With the Fire in its Eyes
Dancing With the Creatures of the Night
Life - Meaning, Madness, and the Mundane
Phoenix Rises
Dreams of Innocence
Burn It Down Epic
The Heart of the Shadow
To Soar With Grace
The Beauty of Silence

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I like how the poem leaves it up to the reader to decide what was lost or broken, most likely a relationship but it could also refer to health, etc.

I like that sense of ambiguity. Done well it can be a means to invite the reader to participate through their own interpretation. Glad that you got that sense.

I felt like a bereavement; I like the open interpretation.

Yes, a bereavement of sorts. I'm glad you liked the open interpretation - the dance of the ambiguous poet.
Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80