Chai Spiced Buttermilk Waffles - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Is there such a thing as being too obsessed with all things Christmas? And even if there is, is there anything wrong with that?

I’ll leave that open for you to decide as I’m busy celebrating the season over here. There’s frost all over the windows this morning and the fires burning in the background to my coffee sipping while snuggled in a flannel blanket close to the sparkling Christmas tree. I love this time of year. Alright, so our current house has a gas fire so my scene is missing the smell the smoke and, yes, it’s also very cold outside for any outings which is a bit bit of a down also. Hey, life isn’t perfect but enjoying each moment for what it is instead of focusing on what it’s not is a good way to live it I think.

So I made some waffles for you today! I seem to have left my old waffle iron back in Chile but luckily I now live where there’s Costco five minutes away. Not gonna lie, I’ve been really loving that fact this season, especially when it means my parents come home with things like brand new Belgian waffle irons every now and again. Obviously a new kitchen appliance means I’ve gotta share a recipe, right?

There are few flavors I enjoy more than chai so I decided to make a classic buttermilk waffle and spice it up with all the flavor. These are so easy to make and make a perfect addition to a cozy morning. Or, if you’re weird like me and you disregard any stereotypical opinions about food and food timing, you can even enjoy them at random times of the day like for lunch or even dessert! Omg, have you ever eaten waffles with ice cream?

Of course, they also can be enjoyed as a perfect start to your day and you can top them however your heart desires.

For these I simply added some of my current favorite things right now, pecans and pomegranate arils because they’re in season, and raspberries because they’re my favorite! Then some whipped cream and a sprinkle of powdered sugar and some maple syrup all go so deliciously well with this. Oh, and if you don’t have a waffle iron, now worries. This recipe can easily be made into pancakes instead.

Happy hump day and stay cozy

XOXO

Gringalicious-border.png

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "What a load of waffle!"

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

1.Cheddar Bacon Everything Bagel Monkey Bread

2.Soft & Chewy Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies

3.Soft + Crinkly Dark Chocolate Pillow Cookies

4.Hawaiian Turkey Burgers on Homemade Buns

5.Thai Sriracha + Tahini Ramen Noodles with Chicken

6.Spicy Korean Rice Bowls with Bulgogi Pork

7.Salted Truffle Chocolate Brownie Cookies

8.White Chocolate Streusel Cranberry Muffins

9.Chipotle Beef & Bechamel Lasagna

10.Candy Bar Crunch Brownie Bars!

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

Sort:  

Awesome, thanks for reading the post @ikaputri3

Ingredients

3 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup (packed) brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cups water or milk
1/4 cup mashed sweet potato (can sup pumpkin, banana, or applesauce)
3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
2 cups full-fat buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon cardamom
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground anise
non-stick cooking spray or oil for greasing the iron (optional)
Instructions

Combine flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder, and spices in a large mixing bowl. In separate bowl, beat eggs with coconut oil, vanilla, buttermilk, water, and sweet potato until smooth. Pour into dry ingredients and add vanilla, sourdough starter, and milk.
Heat a waffle iron and spray lightly with cooking spray. Cook waffles according to manufacturer's instructions.

Thanks for sharing the recipe @gringalicious! Will have to make use of my waffle iron. It stays mostly in the box :-D

Wow, just so yummylicious. I've got to try these myself. I am looking forward to your 'how-to' take food photos early next year. I really want to know some of your tips and tricks. Amazing photos!!

You are always so amazingly supportive!! Thanks for always being there!

Mama has got to try these out, quickly!

Oh, you're too sweet @mamaloves!

Another fantastic display of culinary and photographic skill. You're a phenom!!

I'm so glad you liked these @noboxes!

Omg they look delicious!

Thanks so much @yummyrum and thanks so much for your continued support

Oh, yum! Chai spice sounds amazing in waffles! It's been a while since we've taken out the waffle iron. The one we have isn't the greatest, but better than nothing, right? lol One day we will upgrade to the Belgian waffle iron, and I'll justify it by making waffles for every meal for a week. hahaha As much as I love "breakfast food" I actually prefer it for lunch or dinner 99% of the time... it's usually way too hearty for me to handle first thing in the morning!

I agree, 'breakfast' foods are great for dinner. 'Bacon & Eggs' and all 'breakfast food' for that matter are a great example of marketing. It's my understanding that prior to the 1930's, nobody ate bacon for breakfast.

I hope you do break out that waffle iron and it holds up, or better yet you get a new one, and yes use it for every meal for one week. That would be a great post

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

@gringalicious yuuuuumy! Not sure who you cook for; but they’re super lucky 😋

I have a huge family @splendorhub. 12 people live in my house, so there is always someone to eat my creations. Thanks so much for commenting!!

Wow it look so tasty thank you sharing @mannyfig1956

Thanks so much for your continued support @mannyfig1956

Looks amazing!!! My mouth is watering. Sounds like a perfect dessert for Xmas.

I'm so happy to know you like them @suerisue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97