Spicy Korean Rice Bowls with Bulgogi Pork - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey again, how do you all feel about some really spicy food today? Yeah, you game?

So it’s already nearing the weekend isn’t it?

I have never made Korean food before this even though I’ve been eyeing some different recipe ideas for quite awhile. What inspired me to finally get around to making something Korean was a friend of mine giving me some Gochujang that I needed for making some homemade kimchi. Gochujang is sort if like Korea’s spicier version of ketchup. It’s a fermented condiment that’s mostly made from red chili and they use it everywhere in Korea.

Oh, and if you’re wondering what kimchi is, it’s a traditional side dish that’s also fermented (clearly Koreans like to ferment things) and it’s also served with everything. There are many versions that I’ve found while searching different recipes but the typical main ingredient is cabbage. I may have broken some law somewhere by adding cucumbers and carrots to mine, but since I’m not Korean maybe you can cut me some slack. I’d like to share a recipe for kimchi at some point, but today I’m just going to stick with these bowls and let you guys make or buy it if you want the kimchi.

Alright, so these bowls you guys, they are so amazing! The flavors of the pork marinade are kind of everything! As for the sides, you can mix and match different veggies that you like and serve this meal with however much kimchi you want. It makes it a great way to feed a big group as well because everyone can pick and choose what they want. That’s another traditional part of how Koreans do it, they serve things all separate. There are tons of sides that could have been included here and just one internet search on "Korean food" will give you many ideas. I wanted to keep it fairly simple though, so I did steamed veggies, white rice, kimchi, a simple cucumber salad, and some homemade sauce that’s quick and easy to make. Oh, and I meant to have an egg on the side but I totally forgot to add it to my pictures! Ooops, you’ll have to humor me and imagine that I didn’t forget that important detail. Then you have to add an egg to your bowls so I’ll feel like less of a loser. Thanks.

Hopefully you like it hot because there is a ton of heat involved when your eating Korean style. However, if you aren’t so into the spice I get it, I made the mistake of making some of it too hot and the kiddos didn’t like that so I completely understand cutting back a bit. Feel free to adjust it to what you like.

Lastly, don’t forget to eat it with chopsticks, it’s just so much more fun and authentic that way!

Gringalicious-border.png

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Sleigh Bells"

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

  1. Salted Truffle Chocolate Brownie Cookies

  2. White Chocolate Streusel Cranberry Muffins

  3. Chipotle Beef & Bechamel Lasagna

4.Candy Bar Crunch Brownie Bars!

5.Starbucks Coffee Copycat Recipe - Eggnog Lattes

6.Sweet Potato Spice Pecan Muffins

7.World's Best Nutella Fudge Brownies!!!

8.Apple & Cranberry Holiday Pie

9.Cinnamon Churro Chips + Salted Hot Chocolate Sauce

10.Fluffy Eggnog Pancakes with Homemade Eggnog - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

Sort:  

Looks DEEEEEEE-licious, @gringalicious. I am all for spicy food, especially with this cold creeping up on me. You know how to take pictures that cause mouths to water and stomachs to rumble.

Oh, by the way: SLEIGH BELLS!!! ;-)

Loading...
Loading...

Yummy! Your dishes make my hungry every time!
If I may ask, do you make all those dishes in the weekend or do you cook every day?

I cook everyday and most of the time, multiple times in one day. Not all of my creations make it to the blog, only the ones that I am proud of. Great question @yummyrum, thanks so much

Oh cool! Cooking is really your passion then! I would love to see you in action. Perhaps a video while cooking? A cooking Masterclass? xD Could be awesome!

Dinner is Dinner is served it 's made me extremely hungry i wish a had a bowl Rice Bowls with Bulgogi Pork .... keep it my my friend you have my vote

Thanks so much for the continued support @mannyfig1956

I will continue supporting you always have a great day

Ok, i need THIS in my life... it really looks so tasty!!! xoxo!

Pictures are so clear.

Oh, thanks for your support @rajiv! You're very kind.

Amazing post, I loved it! Besides that I love Korean food❤

Thanks for sharing!

I believe, you're a very good cooker.. But I already see you are a perfect food photographer!

I am only telling the truth!

Love love korean! I always call kimchi a pickled cabbage, i eat that of course..thu am chicken with too spicy food. All that smoke and snot to eat them🤣🤣

I'm so glad you like it @immarojas! Thanks for all your love and support, Girl!

yw..in fairness, your posts are always cool to the eyes😍

Good job! Thanks to @fullofhope you have planted 0.25 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14358.31. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29