A photograph from my first successful garden [Papaver somniferum: The Opium Poppy]

in #photography7 years ago

I took this photograph in my garden out front of my apartment, this is the first time I've successfully planted a garden - not exclusively cannabis.

I love plants, and in the past I've loved the too much, over care can lead to certain death of your beautiful plants.

Be smart and research your plant's needs, and stick to it!

poppy.jpg

Papaver somniferum, also known as the opium poppy, begins as a small plant that resembles a dandelion, or a weed. The stalk of this plant quickly grows and can grow upwards of three or four feet in ideal conditions. After several weeks little buds develop as the plant begins to ready itself for flowering. As the buds mature they curl over in a way that is reminiscent of a hook. A day or two before the buds bloom into flowers, they begin to stand straight up and the coverings fall off to allow the petals of the flower to release and open up to the sun.

Papaver somniferum's flowers come out as white, pink, or red.

Papaver s. requires very little care or nutrients and thrives best in nutrient deficient soils, but it requires the soil to remain moist.


Photograph taken using Galaxy S6 and Pixlar photograph editing application


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe


If you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me and check out a few of the others that I have authored!


Join us in our Minnows Unite Chat for any of your questions, chat with other members, and gain the support of other great authors.
https://steemit.chat/channel/minnowsuniteCHAT

Or join us in our Discord Server!
https://discord.gg/PdWxgus

Sort:  

Beautiful flower 🎑

Thank you, I will tell it. ;)

Interesting garden you have there. Thanks for the photo.

I'll post a photo of the whole garden, it's very small but I have enjoyed the space I have. :)

That is great. I love have a small garden. Thanks!
I just noticed that I was not following you. I am now.

Beautiful little plant. Do you plan on harvesting any part of the plant for medicinal purposed?

Thank you!

As an alchemist I would absolutely be able to - but hey now, that's illegal ;)

Haha you are "allegedly" able to extract something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51