Hard Fork 19 Brought Questions Galore! Here's a few helpful tips to help you navigate the update

in #steemit7 years ago

Yesterday was not a very good day for me, for those of you who may not know - My Car Was Stolen From In Front Of My House - and so waking up this morning to see a dramatic increase of all of my posts gave me quite a warm feeling.

I hopped onto the chat and saw that many minnows had the same exact question:

# How many votes do I get?
confused tired chimp.jpg
Source


This question doesn't have just one answer, because it depends on how many Vests you have.

Vests are how much Steem you have inVESTed in the site as Steem Power.

Right now, approximately 500 SP equates to 1Mil Vests.

When a user reaches 1Mil Vests (500 SP) that user receives what is known as the "Voting Slider Bar."

chrome_2017-06-20_16-04-49.png

This slider allows you to change your voting weight percentage. The higher the weight, the higher the influence used, the more voting power it requires.

chrome_2017-06-20_16-06-49.png

Your voting power, and more, can be found on sites like SteemDB & SteemD.


Now, back to the question at hand:

How many votes do I get per day?

If you are below 1Mil Vests, 500 SP, then you only receive 10 votes a day at max reward value, after which they will diminish and take longer to replenish.

However, if you do have over 1Mil Vests, 500 SP, then you are able to change your vote weight percentage to adjust for your regular voting habits.


The best way to get your SP up as a minnow below 500 SP is to actively engage the community.

Comment on as many posts as you absolutely can. When other members see you frequently commenting on their posts, or the blogs of others they follow, they are much more prone and keen on checking out your profile. Be sure not to spam your links and be actively engaged with the post you are commenting on (i.e. - don't just say 'great post!').

Follow and resteem your favorite authors.

This is a great way to warm up to other contributing authors. SteemDB allows users to check who has followed them recently and can then go from there and check out their blogs.


I hope this clears up a few things, if you still have questions or you're just looking to chat be sure to drop by #MinnowsUnite Discord Server!


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe


If you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me and check out a few of the others that I have authored!


Join us in our Minnows Unite Chat for any of your questions, chat with other members, and gain the support of other great authors.
https://steemit.chat/channel/minnowsuniteCHAT

Or join us in our Discord Server!
https://discord.gg/PdWxgus

Sort:  

@alchemage thanks for this info was great

You are quite welcome, I hope it helps. :)

Thanks for sharing this post

Really great post @alchemage , For myself, speaking as a minnow, all the information I can gather is very helpful. It's post like yours that help me learn.

I had no idea about the sliding bar! Thats interesting. Thanks for filling me in.

Hey man i really so sorry about your car stolen
Only people who lose their car stolen by thief understood how do you feel. Sorry but do not worry man in around 2 years you forget this incident ok. This is my experience and i should with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78