Steemit Open Mic Week 58 - My Top 5 Picks This Week

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Open Mic Week 58

Luzcypher's Top 5 Open Mic Picks

I'm Luzcypher, host of Steemit Open Mic and these are my top 5 picks for week 58.

To know what I look for when making my picks please read Behind The Scenes Look At The Steemit Open Mic Selection Process - How We Pick The Top 3 Entries --- by @luzcypher

My aim is to build the Steemit music community and showcase the best live entertainment for the week. There are plenty of talented entries each week and my picks will be added to the other judges picks to select the week's winners.

If you look at the trending page for the openmic tag you'll see you don't have to win to do well on Open Mic.

Without further ado here are my picks.

Steemit_Open_Mic_top_5_picks.png

#1 @matisotoaguilar

The mesmerizing performance is rich with interesting rhythms, colorful harmonies and delivered with dynamic precision. It felt like I was on a musical journey exploring new territory.

The percussion was very interesting as it wove though the triplets on guitar while the vocal melody and harmonies washed over it in waves.

You guys played together very well and you carried the song from start to finish.

Steemit Open Mic Week 58 Original Composition Mogati Calor Warmth --- by @matisotoaguilar

#2 @pechichemena

This song is so romantic and played with a delicate touch but it pulls you in and won't let you go. The vocal fits the music and the mellow mood is carried well by the performance.

The vocal melody had some introspective intervals that are very interesting and the chord changes have a jazz feel to them. Very well done.

Steemit Open Mic Week 58 Original Song Dicen --- by @pechichemena

#3 @introspectiva

The right hand strumming technique she uses in this performance is pure flamenco style and she doesn't miss a beat. Together with the singing it gives it a gypsy feel that is irresistible.

Great performance.

Steemit Open Mic Week 57 Tonada De Luna Llena By Simon Diaz Cover --- by @introspectiva

#4 @aidarojaswriter

This is a very interesting song with unusual chord changes and she really pulled it off. What really got my attention was the vocal melody and the sound of her voice. Haunting and comforting at the same time and the lyrics are deep.

Steemit Open Mic Week 58 Original Song Barco De Naufragio By Aida Rojas --- by @aidarojaswriter

#5 @tarotbyfergus

Something about the lyrics and the story and the way he sang this song really made me feel the passion behind it. The performance is all heart.

Steemit Open Mic Week 58 Sweet Gina Original Song --- by @tarotbyfergus

steemit_open_mic_honorable_mentions.png

@dreamrafa

Steemit Open Mic Week 58 Apure En Un Viaje Joropo 2017115T131535558Z --- by @digitalopus

Watch every entry that entered this week by reading Steemit Open Mic Week 58 - See Who Played Open Mic And Vote For Your Favorite Steemian Musicians --- by @luzcypher

You can also check out the new Steemian Musicians radio show at Steemit Musicians The New Msp Waves Radio Show Featuring Open Mic Entries And A 20 Sbd Prize --- by @krystle

steemit_open_mic_team.png

Passion-ground is the newest addition to the Steemit Open Mic team. You can read more about that at It Is A Proud Honor To Have Been Recently Entrusted As An Official Open Mic Judge --- by @passion-ground

You can also read his pick this week atOfficial Open Mic Judge Passion Ground S Top 5 Entries For Week 58 --- by @passion-ground

Thanks everyone for sharing your music and being part of this amazing community.

steemians-support-open-mic.png

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

To all of you who earned an original song bonus congratulations and thanks for sharing your talents and creativity with the Steemit community. It has been a joy listening to your music.

Oh shit @matisotoaguilar entry was awesome!

And a sweet guitar groove on @introspectiva.

@aidarojaswriter had solid guitar work too coupled with the dark singing. A little bit euphoric, what a vibe.

I actually really liked @tarotbyfergus vocals. Kinda a mix between Petty & the Wood Brothers with hints of Axel haha.

Some good picks my friend ;)

Thanks, man. It is not easy picking from all this talent.

Funny image gorila

I like it too.

Congratulations to the winners and entrants. Keep up the great work and sharing your musical talents. Thanks for sharing the awesome mix of talented people for all of us to enjoy.

The winners will be announced on Monday.

Looking forward to it :)

Great picks, @luzcypher! So stoked that you are now weighing in with your personal top five! Based upon your picks, it’s quite apparent that we do indeed share similar inclinations. Right-on, brother – great minds think alike! (Ha!) ;-)

I didn’t pick up on the @introspectiva right hand strumming until you pointed it out. I listened to it, and watched it again and hell yeah, - it was totally awesome! Great pick! They were definitely on my radar – no doubt about that.

Yet another phenomenal week here at the Open-Mic venue! I now have a far greater appreciation for all that you and the rest of the judges have done to make this venue what it is. Hat tip to every one of you!

It’s one thing to simply up-vote and comment on one’s favorite performances. However, it’s quite another animal entirely - when it comes to actually selecting a small group of top-5 candidates, and honorable mentions. It’s a rather arduous process to say the very least.

Since I got my first taste of this rather challenging endeavor this week, I now have so much more respect for what you and the rest of the judges have been doing all this time.

You and the Open-Mic team that you’ve built ROCK, Luzcy! Thank you, Brother!

I'm glad you appreciate it. It's really hard picking from so much talent. The community inspires me to keep going, plus you get to hear some great music.

No doubt about it, man.... I very much do... At the end of the day, it's a win/win every which way from Sunday!

congratulation to the winner great work :)

The winners will be announced on Monday. These are just my picks

Oh in these 5 winner

Thank you so much @luzcypher ! seeing my song here on this list makes me so happy , that little song is a special one for me , so it makes me so glad to see that you liked it :) . Cheers!

We are all here to help each other out. Steem On! Thanks Follow me & Upvote. I'll do the Same."

I like all of them and I love the #1 & #2 you have chosen, @luzcypher thank you sir you're such a good man.. I'm excited in the week 59 entries.. sir @passion-ground I hope my entry for week 59 will cooperate with me specially the audio thing., hehehe I think I'm doing it with guitar but I have to barrow one from my friend or from the store, the guitar they are selling.. hehehe

STEEMIT ACHIEVERS PHILIPPINES
Soar High Be An Inspiration
#steemitachievers


Congrats to all the winners and honorable mentions! I LOVED @aidarojaswriter TOO!! What a lovely voice she has! .

I am super exited also to see @passion-ground as a judge! It was bound to happen , wasn't it?? he really knows what's up! .

Let's see what week 59 brings us!!

These are not the winners, just my top 5 picks. We will announce winners on Monday, 12th of November

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66