It is a Proud Honor to have been Recently Entrusted as an Official Open Mic JudgesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Nearly six months ago, after continually hearing all types of hyped-up chatter about Steemit on an array of various podcasts that I follow, I finally said “what the heck” – let me give this network a quick look. Next thing you know… BAM!

Judges Graphic - Open Mic.png

When I got here, I was only moderately impressed - that is - until I came upon the Open Mic venue. Once I got a small glimpse into the Open Mic arena, it instantly became overwhelmingly clear to me that I had to participate and become involved in this musical community – no matter what. Quite honestly, the Open Mic venue is the ONLY thing that has kept me here on Steemit!

I believe my first “unofficial” entry (Reason To Love You) was in week #34, and I’ve been making consistent submissions without missing a week right on through last week’s contest #58.

Next week, #59, will likely be the first week I miss due to all of the preparation that is required of me in getting ready for this rather esteemed and serious responsibility, of which I’m so proud and honored to fulfill.

Fret not however, passion-ground fans (ha!) - as I will be back with regular submissions (perhaps not as often) and even though all of my future submissions will be “NON-QUALIFYING” – meaning that I am obviously no longer eligible to win any prize money as an “official judge” – I just don’t think it is possible for me to simply disappear from the “submission-scene” without a trace. It just ain’t gonna happen! So...

I WILL BE BACK.jpg

Just like all of you, I truly need and rely upon the Open Mic venue to share whatever talents I have – and to get constructive real-time feedback on all of my artistic efforts and yes, my antics too - (Remember “the Kitchen Sink” and Good Golly Miss Molly? Ha!) Hey, we gotta have some fun here too, ya know!

In all seriousness, there is truly nothing quite so rewarding as having your peers listen-to and look-at your work – and getting near-about instantaneous constructive and positive feedback on what you've just poured out of your heart and soul!

I FUCKING LOVE THIS SONG.png

Be that as it may, the “prize money” or “competition-aspect” was never-ever a motivating factor for me. Heck, I don’t even have a crypto account from which to “power down” in order to collect any such bounty.

The sole motivating factor in sharing my talents, antics, and interactions with the “Open Mic Community” – is my undying love and grounded passion for music, and more importantly, for the people who love, create, perform, and play that music – all kinds of music.

Me in 1964.png

Ever since I was a kid growing up in multi-family Italian-American household in NYC, music was an integral part of my childhood existence. I had two teenage Aunts living on the first floor who were diehard Beatle & Elvis fans - and lovers of all manner of Motown, R&B, and Rock & Roll of the day.

I guess I had some natural rhythm in my DNA as my two teenage Aunts – before school, would on a daily basis - pick me up, and get a super thrill out of standing me up on the kitchen table, and encourage me to dance to Chubby Checker’s “The Twist,” and to any other of the countless billboard hits that were breaking the charts back in the mid-1960’s.

With that, I suppose that I learned quite early on – at least one way in which to make pretty girls smile… (Ha!) They were my very first “groupies,” and I love them till this day for all of their loving support and encouragement.

Fortunately, we were able to move out of NYC and into a sleepy CT suburb when I was around 6-years old. Somehow or another, between my Mom’s uncle and her brother-in-law – over the ensuing years, we somehow had the fortune of acquiring an acoustic guitar along with an electric guitar, bass and amp – all of which no one in my immediate family knew what to do with.

In the absence of all the encouragement from my Aunts, I eventually sought my own entertainment in messing around with these musical instruments that were otherwise gathering dust in our new home. During those days – till present – I am a totally self-taught musician/artist… And yeah, I can sorta draw too!

MJ drawn at 25 in 84.png

Throughout my early and mid teens, I went through the actual “garage-band” thing, got in a few different bands and continued on with my self-learning experience.

Of course, as we get to be adults, life seems to somehow get in the way of most creative pursuits, but I’ve always kept those natural talents in my back pocket, and have always come back to that which was the most pleasurable for me – music – and everything about it!

Early - To - Mid-Teens.png

After my Mom died in ‘99, I moved from the east coast to the west, and had a bit of fun for nearly a decade in Southern CA – playing some charity benefits and the like with a classic-rock cover band. Fast forward, and here I am – signed, sealed, delivered – and I’M YOURS now!

Misc-Pics-8.jpg

Sure, there’s a whole lot more to my story than just this – but I’m thinking that this is just about enough that I would expect anyone to tolerate.

All you need to know is that I love to entertain – and to be entertained – and that there is no better venue on Earth for people like me and you to find such pleasures – than at STEEMIT’s Open Mic venue!

Entertaining a small group.png

Thanks for being here Open Mic People – after all, it is all of you that truly make this venue what it is, and for that, I am forever grateful and listening – I’m always listening!

In closing, I wish to thank @lucypher, @pfunk, the rest of our esteemed Open Mic judges, as well as all of you - for your collective love, generosity, talents, and confidence in entrusting me with this most precious gift.

Peace, Love, and Justice for ALL

-@passion-ground

Sort:  

How I said it in the post of Luzcypher ... Congratulations brother, I'm happy for you, in good time!

Thank you for the well wishes, digital!

That's awesome, good talented people need to be judged

Congrats on being a judge! I agree. We do it for the love of music. Awesome old pictures too man.

Thanks so much, Doc! I just love the fact that you are an actual "Doctor" - and do so much good for humanity, while at the same time - being able to rock your shit like nobody's business... In my book, there is nothing cooler than that! Thank you, my brother!

I definitely hope you don't stop posting songs. You and @steelygeoff are the reasons I stayed interested in openmic.

Oh, I ain't gonna stop - that you can count on, @tarotbyfergus! I am so missing my good mate @steelygeoff - I haven't heard from him in quite a while... He too, is one of my Open Mic favorites along with his rather talented son, @andybetts ... Hope to hear from them again real soon... Thanks so much, Tarot - you rock, brother!

I'm so happy you're on the Open Mic team and look forward to listening to lots of great music together.

Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends.
We're so glad you could attend.
Come inside! Come inside! -- Emerson, Lake & Palmer

Likewise @luzcypher! Thank you for your kind announcement post - and yeah, I’m lookin' forward to gettin' busy with you and the rest of the crew listening to and watching all manner of Open Mic People rock the house down, and taking Steemit by storm!

Congratulations!I know you're going to be a great judge!

Thanks, Amber! I will certainly do my very best!

Congrats man! That's awesome

Thank you, Drew! It is truly is an honor!

Thank you, Naveen... I won't stop till' I get enough! ...which is likely, never... :-)

what a article....!
Thanks for sharing the video with us.
I've resteemed your post!

Brilliant!!! I am happy to hear this. Congrats Buddy!!!!!

Thank you, Tam!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52