One photo every day: Nepenthes (98/365)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago

Ok, I used the idea I got from trying out shooting through the loupe (second test shot) with our tablet, and taped the loupe fixed on my Jolla C smartphone for some macro photos.

I tried some interesting close-ups before realizing Vera's Nepenthes was a pretty interesting subject to photograph. So here's a macro close-up of one of the cup shaped leaves:

Nepenthes (macro)
Nepenthes

Nepenthes is a flesh eating plant. Whenever a fly smells its sweet aroma, they fly into the cup and never come out again.

I'm off to the grocery now, I want to buy ingredients for those appetizing mozzarella sticks @gringalicious shared with us a while back. We are going to watch the Gremlins 2 movie and have some snacks while watching. :)

So see you later with more photos and stories! :)



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Project 365 // Thirteenth week in pictures (13/52)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)
Third week in pictures (3/52)
Fourth week in pictures (4/52)
Fifth week in pictures (5/52)
Sixth week in pictures (6/52)
Seventh week in pictures (7/52)
Eighth week in pictures (8/52)
Ninth week in pictures (9/52)
Tenth week in pictures (10/52)
Eleventh week in pictures (11/52)
Twelfth week in pictures (12/52)
Thirteenth week in pictures (13/52)


The culprit. (92/365)
Lahti City Hall Park (93/365)
Macro test shot with Samsung Tab and a loupe. (94/365)
Korean fir cones (95/365)
Peculiar tree (96/365)
Bokehshelf (97/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


This one is posted as !originalworks

Sort:  

Nice shot, I never would have guessed what it was.

waw nice plant we dont have that over here. You could drink right out of it :) how did things turn out with berniesanders my friend. the fight is over?

I'm not sure if I would drink out of it, but according to Wikipedia monkeys have been observed drinking rainwater from them.

Bernie has not been on Steem for a couple of days as far as I know. No idea what he is planning.

Looks like a worm :)) man i was having my launch , why did i read this post , now my appetite is lost :)

My thoughts exactly, except that I still possess a very healthy appetite. We already have an anti-fly unit in our home: our cat. She is very effective at catching flies.

wow fantastic shot, the way you blurred the background is amazing, i really appreciate your photography.

Thanks for the information and i liked the details in the photo, and maybe next time we can see the complete photo of this eating plant.

image

That is really wonderful to watch nicely taken :)

@gamer00 - Sir is this an insect? Wonderful photography you took there, but Sir, it's weird :( I hate insects :)

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

At first, i thought it's an earthworm taken from close distance, (i had no prior idea about Nepenthes) - then I started to realize im looking at a plant as I was reading through. Either way, i always enjoy your photos, always something different ☺

That thing looks weird but pretty cool. I dare you to stick your finger in it xD

DQmTnbGT29zWxw68WDGMnK8wmEHfV3sRtNap46eLbBNb9F8.png

LOL I doubt it would bite though. ;)

Does that mean you take my dare, haha xD

Nope. ;)

Our Nepenthes, while quite impressive is still somewhat small, I wouldn't want to break the cups trying to fit any of my fingers in them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64