One photo every day: Candle (136/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

Hello!

I finally got some of my motivation back! I hope it'll last me for a while.


...in the dark

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Canon EF-S 18-55mm  ƒ/3.5-5.6 III
Aperture: ƒ/18
Exposure:  1/13 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200


This photo is a bit different, as in I really haven't done this before. Separating the background from the foreground with the use of a flash is not an immediate gratification, as I had to take up to 25 photos before getting the photo the way I wanted, and it's still a bit off. I guess it just means I need to come back to this photo one day and re-imagine it.

Anyway, the steps to take images like this is to first set the aperture to as small as possible. I started from 29.

That meant that in the dimly lit room the shutter speed had to be so slow (2 seconds) the candle flame got all round and featureless. So I compensated and raised the aperture to 18, and set the shutter speed to ½ second, then 1/6 second, and eventually at 1/13 second.

I had the shutter at 2 second delay and kept the flash (set at low power) in my hand right above the candle, directed straight at the candle. I used the Hähnel remotes to trigger the flash as the shutter opened.

(I must say the flame still looks pretty featureless.)

Well, this was that, and I guess I'll be going to bed now. Good night guys, hope you liked the photo! :)



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Recorder flute (135/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)
Third week in pictures (3/52)
Fourth week in pictures (4/52)
Fifth week in pictures (5/52)
Sixth week in pictures (6/52)
Seventh week in pictures (7/52)
Eighth week in pictures (8/52)
Ninth week in pictures (9/52)
Tenth week in pictures (10/52)
Eleventh week in pictures (11/52)
Twelfth week in pictures (12/52)
Thirteenth week in pictures (13/52)
Fourteenth week in pictures (14/52)
Fifteenth week in pictures (15/52)
Sixteenth week in pictures (16/52)
Seventeenth week in pictures (17/52)
Eighteenth week in pictures (18/52)
Nineteenth week in pictures (19/52)



Look who's in my sleeve! (129/365)
Smoke pattern (130/365)
"Smoke" on the water. (131/365)
Beer (132/365)
Waiting for opponent. (133/365)
Ornamental stitch pattern (134/365)
Recorder flute (135/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

hello darkness my old friend i have come to say hello again :D hhah

That's a beautiful candle vase. It looks like ice.

Wow! What a wonderful sight to behold. Well, am glad you've got some of your motivation back. Good luck

Wonderful Photography.
For your post propagation.
Upvote/Resteem

Nice flash photo shot. Grand visualization.

Nice photo

Nice contribution @gamer00

@gamer00,
I can express my feeling in just three words! "It's Fantastic"! Great work friend!

Cheers~

I had the shutter at 2 second delay and kept the flash (set at low power) in my hand right above the candle, directed straight at the candle. I used the Hähnel remotes to trigger the flash as the shutter opened.

The way you described what you snapped, showed your high level of experience and understanding of photography. Maybe someday you will have a school of photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13