Self PortraitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago


Self Portrait – Charcoal on tinted paper – 18 x 24 inches.

Rembrandt must have thought making self-portraits was a good idea because he drew and painted dozens of them.

I wish I were as prolific and as skillful as he was, but you can only do what you can do.

Want more sketches? See the previous posts in this #steemexclusive series, always shared only on WOX:

  1. José
  2. Monforte Gardens
  3. Siena Sketch
  4. Room Study
  5. My Friend Manolo
  6. Calle de Caballeros
  7. Bridge Sketch
  8. Tim, a sketch from my book
  9. Iceland Sketch
  10. Shopping Sketch
  11. Holbrooke Hotel Bar
  12. Chandelier
  13. Passengers to Portland
  14. Gladiolus
  15. Weston
  16. Madrid Estanque
  17. Travelers, anywhere
  18. Helicopter
  19. Sketch for a Gift
  20. Sketches of Sculptures
  21. Dragon

More images on my website: johnmichaelkeating.com

Sort:  

Hi Michael, that is awesome portrait, such wonderful usage the benefits of coloured paper and also contrast of charcoal and white pencil.
to strengthen the contrast of light and shadow. Like the direction of hatching and the equal distribution of value of charcoal.

 2 years ago 

Hola stef1 and thank you again for another perceptive insight. As always, I appreciate hearing from you.

I recently have seen other drawings taken from photographic pictures, and these were - alas! - "dead". They destroyed the vividness of the photo.

Here, I'm not sure if there was a photo or just a mirror, and it doesn't really matter, because your drawing is not only skillful but vivid and expressive. You "catched" your aura. The look of the eyes seems to glow out of the screen I'm looking on. Wow!

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your perceptive comments, ty-ty. In this case, as in most others, there was no photo, only a mirror. I appreciate your insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61354.39
ETH 3309.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47