Room StudysteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago


Room Study - Watercolor - 9 x 12 inches.

Happy Saturday, dear Steemians and friends of WOX. Here's another watercolor sketch I would like to share exclusively with our community. This is an example of a study that later became a full blown painting.

In the United States and in most parts of the world, you would not likely enter rooms such as these. They were part of a summer home of close friends in Spain, on the outskirts of Valencia.

Years ago, those gracious people allowed me to be at home in their home for some unforgettable summers. Eventually I painted the scene in oils on canvas, with a woman asleep in the bed.

Previous posts in this #steemexclusive series: one, two, three.

Sort:  

When you do such study how big the format do you try to do bigger one so that later it is easy to reproduce on canvas?

You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 2 years ago 

Hello stef1. You ask such interesting questions! I normally use sketchbooks in 2 sizes: the smaller one measures 5 1/2 x 8 1/2 inches and I carry it everywhere, every day, for drawing things that interest me, whether I'm going to turn the drawing into a larger work or not.

The larger sketchbooks measure 9 x 12 in. and I have several of them, in the studio, at home, in the car, etc. and I use these to work out problems related to light, proportions, values of dark and light, composition, etc. In other words, problems I want to resolve before committing to painting in oils or watercolors on larger surfaces.

In Room Study, you'll notice faint pencil lines where I worked out the composition. The next step is making a grid in ink on tracing paper or a plastic sheet laying it on top of the sketch. The smaller squares on the sketch correspond proportionally to a grid that I've drawn on the canvas, so that it's relatively easy to transfer the smaller image to the larger surface.

Of course, there are always changes and modifications, as you can see from this image of the finished painting.

Thank you again for your interest in what I'm up to. I hope I have answered your question.

Paterna_Bedroom-1400x1093.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66