Playing the Sims: Renovating the Steem House

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello, and welcome to my blog- How to Play the Sims. If you are new, you can visit my blog and catch up by reading my previous posts. Follow me @simgirl to receive my newest posts in your Steemit feed.

Legacy Challenge


Victoria, and Jack Steem are my Sim Girl legacy challenge Sims. If you are not familiar with the challenge you can find it at Sims Legacy Challenge. This challenge is to basically start your Sim out on a huge lot, with little to no money, and then play the household for 10 generations on this land. There are many stipulations, and rules for the challenge. You can find these rules by following the link.


Imgur


Since I have been building the Steem home as I go, I have been adding on to the house as the family can afford it. The house is efficient, but not very pretty. I wanted to have a nice farm, and to me every farm needs a nice farm house, with a nice front porch.

This house, has the regular sized porch that can be placed with the build tool. I only made sure that there were steps going up, and down the porch. Plus, porches are expensive.

When you are playing your Sims, you will want your house to be flowing; so that they can go from one room to another without much effort, or without running in to each other, and getting stuck.

This house layout has proven to be awkward, so I decided that it was time for a remodel. Victoria, Jack and the Steem girls have been in the house for a very long time…


Imgur


First, when I started the game, I picked the Steem residence, but instead of playing the game, I went into the build option for the land. Here, I can do any kind of building I need to do, with the household funds, and without the 8 Sims I have running around the property.

In the first screenshot I have highlighted the option on top of the screen that gives me the option to move the entire house at one time. Once you enable this option, you can then click on the house, and the house will be selected in its entirety.

Once the house is highlighted, you will be given the options to revolve the house or move the house. I moved the house a few times, before I found the right spot. You can move the house to any spot on the property, if there is room for it.


Imgur


Once I found a nice spot for the house, I began taking all the items out of the home, so that I could see what I was working with. For items on the walls, such as pictures, or lights, I used the family inventory to store them.

You can put all the items into the inventory, if you want. I find it is easier to find the items, if they are spread out in the yard. Since there is a good deal of land, I used it for storage, so I could easily find the items after I remodeled the house.


Imgur


When all the items were removed from the house, I could then move the walls, and change the design of the house without worrying that I will need to move the items.

You can move the walls of the house without removing all the items, but I wanted to move all the items anyway. If you do move the walls with the items inside the house, and you find that the game removed the item, look in your family inventory. All unused items of the household will be placed there.


Imgur


The first thing I wanted, was to put on a nice big front porch, the length of the house. Since the walls of the girl’s bedrooms were sticking out in front, I moved the walls back to make room for the porch. When I did that, I was refunded the cost of the walls; giving me more money to play with while building.

I then used the porch tool, to drag the existing porch, the length of the front of the house. I did the same thing with the front of the porch that included the railing and steps.


Imgur


After the front porch was finished, I could begin to look at the house, and the rooms that remained.

What was bothering me about this layout, was that I added the kitchen to the living room, and then added frame openings to go into the play room. So, the Sims were going around in a circle by either going through the play room, or all the way through the living room, to get their food in the kitchen.

I’m not sure why, but they would eat their food sitting on the beds, instead of at the table…

The master bedroom was too small, and it did not have an attached bathroom, and the girl’s bedrooms were all attached. Meaning, they had to go through one room to get to the other. That wasn’t too bad, except, I kept adding rooms, and moving the bathroom. I needed to just re-do the entire thing.


Imgur


I moved the walls around so that the bedrooms were a little bigger, and I added a third bathroom. I moved the kitchen around, and most of the doors and entrance ways; so that the Steem family didn’t feel like they were walking through a maze, going from one room to another.

The house is now one size, instead of having certain rooms sticking out the sides of the house, and all the rooms are square, and even. They should be able to easily move, from one activity to another now.


Imgur


After the house was finished, I set my focus on the garden. Since Jack needs to evolve 10 excellent plants, I had to go through the plants one by one, and then separate them by quality. Once that was done, I could then place the plants in different locations, this way I will know which ones to pay the most attention to when tending the garden.

I placed the higher quality plants by the house, and the lower quality plants to the side as a garden. I could use the sledge hammer to bust away the old concrete. I moved the mailbox, and the garbage can, and then placed a new walkway to the house.


Imgur


When I was finished with the house and the yard, I then made sure the roof was on straight. I also added some lattice to the foundation of the house, giving it that final touch it needed to be pretty.

This house should hold the family for a little while. I don’t want to make the house too big for a few reasons. The bigger the house, the more the monthly bills. The longer the legacy, the less Sims that will be around to take care of the plants making the family money. And, once the second generation of Steem girls move out of the house, the house will be too big for the remaining Sims.


Imgur


When I returned to the game to play the Steem family, they adapted to the house, as if nothing had changed. I sent each Sim their own way while on pause, and once I resumed play, they each went to do their individual task.

I showed @snook the remodel, and she pointed out that I forgot a door in the master bedroom. Thank you for that!


Imgur


If you have not noticed yet, the Sims 4 game is giving away a cool looking guitar called, Grim’s Ghoulish Guitar. You can receive this item by selecting the guitar icon at the bottom left-hand side of your login screen.

You will be required to fill out your email, and agree to receive emails from the game to receive the gift.

I hope you have learned a little more about playing the Sims 4, and how to remodel an existing house. If you are playing a legacy challenge, you will need to remodel the home to suit the needs of your Sims at one point, or another. The homes will need remodeled over time, and can be done without much effort, or money.

Until next time,

Happy Gaming- Sim Girl


line1 2


For More Posts @simgirl, follow these links:
Creation of A Sim: Creating a Sim From Scratch
Creation of A Sim: An Outfit For Every Occasion
Creation of A Home: Buying the Land
Creation of A Home: Rough Framing
Creation of A Home: The Details
Creation of A Home: Final Touches for Functionality
Picking Sally Steemit’s Life Goal
Playing the Sims: The Great Start- Choosing a Career
Playing the Sims: Skills, Needs, and Other Things
Playing the Sims: Are you Controlling?
Playing the Sims: This Everyday Task Called Work
Playing the Sims: Living the City Life
Playing the Sims: Planning Your Sim’s Day
Playing the Sims: Glitches, and Technical Difficulties
Playing the Sims: Social Affairs, and Household Repairs
Playing the Sims: Moving on Up in the City
Playing the Sims: The Sims 4 Patch Notes
Playing the Sims: Laughing at Your Own Jokes!
Playing the Sims: What do Sims Do on Their Day Off?
Playing the Sims: Vampires, Resets, Promotions, and Setbacks
Playing the Sims- Change of Plans
Sim Girl Legacy Challenge
Sunday- Sim Girl Legacy Challenge Update I
Sunday Sim Girl Legacy Challenge Update II
Sunday Sim Girl Legacy Challenge Update III
Playing the Sims: All About Fishing
Playing the Sims: Living Off the Land, Cowplant Edition
Playing the Sims: On Pause
Playing the Sims: Introducing the Sim Girl Dark Shadows Challenge
Playing the Sims: Labor Day!!!
Playing the Sims: Toddler Years Whomp whomp whomp
Playing the Sims: An Embarrassing Incident and Cake
Playing the Sims: Growing Children and Mushrooms
Playing the Sims: Little Steem Divas and Cake
Playing the Sims: Birthday Edition!
Playing the Sims: Parenthood Game Pack
Playing the Sims: This Game Revolves Around Cake
Playing the Sims: Yet more Birthdays… Oh, and Fish!!
Playing the Sims: Cowplant Take Two
Playing the Sims: Download the Steem Family From the Gallery

How-to Sim Your Life: A Guide to Winning the Game of Life

SimgirlGif

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

Sort:  

my sims still eat on the beds loll I love the remodel!!

Thank you!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43