A Bad Freewriting Ramble ✏️5 Minute Freewrite Day 251✏️ -- Players

in #freewrite6 years ago

Players – what a wonderful and truly versatile word that can mean something good or bad, cool or geeky, and so much more.

A player, here in America at least, can mean the following things, and I’m sure I’m missing things:

  • An athlete
  • A male that dates multiple women at the same time (he “plays” them)
  • A video game enthusiast
  • An actor or actress in a play
  • A piece from a board game

What I think of most is an athlete. But calling someone a player, doesn’t that take away something from them as a human? Sorry to get all philosophical all of a sudden, this is just what’s coming to mind.

I think this comes to mind because in sports, fans – fanatics – often get caught up in the world of sports more than their actual life. Recently, a fan from Argentina took their own life after an opening loss in the World Cup.

When we think of a person as a sports player, we think of them as an object on a team. And it’s much easier to get mad at and berate an object than a human being with thoughts and feelings just like us.

I have no idea where I’m going with this. I was very excited for the topic but now I am not really pleased with what has come out of these five minutes. I should’ve tried to think of a fictional story. I’ll try to have something better for you tomorrow! My time is up.



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 251. The prompt for this freewrite was "players." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by!

Previous Freewriting Challenge Entries

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

Please read my latest article on airdrops, 5 New Airdrops To Join Today here

Sort:  

The point of freewriting is to write whatever comes into your head – good or bad – so don't worry about the quality of it at all! 😊 You did touch on an interesting point about fans becoming completely obsessed with sports, to the point that it takes over their normal lives. I know a few people whose fixation with the winning-and-losing fortunes of their favourite teams is on the unhealthy side... I hadn't heard about that Argentinian fan committing suicide, but I don't find it at all difficult to believe that it happened, sadly. 😕

That's so kind and great advice, thank you! Sorry for being so late to respond!

Wow - I hadn't heard about the fan killing himself. You might not have liked where you were going - but I think it is giving us a lot to think about.

Thank you! Yes, terrible story. I'm guessing it's probably not the only one.

Yes, just write!

Here's another chance. I'm actually bringing today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-252-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-talking-dog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57