Skinny Inspired Ramble -- ✏️5 Minute Freewrite Day 239✏️ -- "Skinny"

in #freewrite6 years ago

“I’ll take that cappuccino skinny, to-go,” Maria demanded of the barista.

I have such a hard time overriding my own thoughts when I’m attempting to freewrite a fictional story. I thought of the first line and then my mind begins to speak to me:

“What does “skinny” even mean? Less sugar, more chemicals, less fat…?”

“Can you even order a skinny cappuccino?”

“Do people order cappuccino’s anymore?”

“Will barista’s even exist in ten years or will we have robots with mustaches and skinny jeans at every coffee shop delivering our orders to us?”

While these thoughts destroy my ability to become a strong fictional writer, I guess I should be thankful because they help me in other areas of life. I over analyze everything, which helps me make better decisions (sometimes), and all of the questions that run through my head help me write better non-fiction content. It’s a tradeoff I’m willing to accept.

Back to the prompt of the day with my remaining time. “Skinny” has always been an interesting term to me and not something I’ve ever accomplished. It’s also gone from desirable to stigmatized in society.

Time’s up, thanks for tuning in to whatever this was 😊.



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 239. The prompt for this freewrite was "skinny." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by!

Previous Freewriting Challenge Entries

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

Please read my latest article on airdrops, 5 New Airdrops To Join Today here

Sort:  

I'm still picturing a robot in skinny jeans! 😂 Isn't it freeing to just let your words flow from where your mind wanders? It's good that you analyze prior to making a decision, too many people I know jump in and regret the consequences later.

The prompts are ready!
Are you up for the challenge?
GIF via giphy

Weekend Freewrite 6/16/18 - Single Prompt Option

Weekend Freewrite 6/16/18 - Part 1 - The First Sentence

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

It is fun to see the stream of consciousness. This is super cool to me. Happy steeming!

the ever questioning mind - sounds familiar. But you got the advantage figured out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87