"No, You Have Fun Traveling" -- 5 Minute Freewrite Day 28 -- Travel

in #freewrite6 years ago

Travel Image.png

I’ve always felt embarrassed because of my lack of interest in traveling the world. Growing up, we learn about and admire travelers, but I never saw the appeal.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy going on small adventures, like driving several hours to attend a sporting event or meeting a friend who lives out of two half-way for a cup of coffee, but the act of traveling is frustrating and exhausting.

To travel to Paris, for example, I would have to research, plan, buy clothes, pack, work extra hours (probably extra weeks or months) to afford it all before even taking a first step towards the romantic destination. Then, I would need to drive several hours to an airport, spend all day making my way there, be extremely uncomfortable navigating an unfamiliar place, spend a ton of money, and then make my way back just to have to do extra work to catch up.

I prefer travels of the mind. Give me a good movie to watch instead of a trip to Paris. I’m sorry I don’t enjoy traveling. Actually, no I’m not. But best of luck on your next trip!



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 218. The prompt is "travel." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by!



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43