"I Still Want What I Can't Have" 5 Minute Freewrite Day 217 -- Appetite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Appetite freewrite.png

This is my entry for the 5 Minute Freewrite Day 217. The prompt is "appetite." I'm a bit out of practice, but very happy to be freewriting again.

My tummy grumbles, my thoughts scramble. If only I could really eat what I wanted right now I would feel so much better…until I didn’t.

I’m on a diet. Let me rephrase that, my entire family is on a diet. While that has changed what I eat and how often, that hasn’t changed my appetite. I still want it all – big burritos loaded with sour cream, five types of cheeses, and guacamole. I want big juicy hamburgers, ice cream, pizza, fresh baked cookies, and a six-pack if beer.

I know that when most people change their eating habits their cravings begin to go away, but after two-and-a-half months, mine haven’t and I’m not sure if they ever will.

I feel better and I am at peace with the food I eat now, which includes a lot of soup, healthy fats, and staying away from grains. But my appetite for the things that I know will make me feel terrible shortly after eating them is as strong as ever.

So what can I do? I think just like with my diet, that I need to keep fighting on. Resist these urges to get myself and family to a healthier place.



Have you heard of Presearch? This is my favorite project and it has a lot of potential. Earn coins for searching and support a decentralized search engine! Referral link below gives you 25 coins. 25 Bonus coin offer ends 5/31.



Sort:  

Welcome to the freewrite group! We have lots of fun here!

Thank you! Looking forward to it. I love freewriting, I just rarely make the time for it.

Just remember most the shit foods you crave were intelligently engineered to make your brain & body heavily addicted to them at the expense of your health. Made by companies who continually make their products more unhealthy & addictive to add to the trillions of dollars they have to manipulate big food systems into only making their disease causing food available. Combine this information with the stake in health care the owners of these companies have & you can start to break the programming they have been force feeding us with since Saturday morning saved by the bell & before.

Personally, I’ve been researching & trying to intermittent fast & feels amazing when I do.

Stay healthy my friend 👍

Wow, yes, great point. They want me to still crave it. Working on the marketing side of businesses, I see a lot of things this way, but did not consider this right now.

Hopefully, for you, it will go away. Or, you keep wanting to eat those foods - then, one day, you do - only to find out that they don't taste good anymore.

I think it takes our tastebuds a few months to change and to start appreciating the different foods we are now eating...

And it helps to stay away from places and events where the trigger foods are available.

Thanks for writing with us!!

Great points, thank you! It's an everyday thing -- takes a lot of hard work to make real changes.

I think the roughest of the diets is the strength of will that we can have, very successful, I know that you will achieve your goal.

Thank you so much for the kind words! As a team effort (my wife and two young boys), it's been much easier than if I were alone in this.

is a key point to keep moving forward so that the people of your family circle support you

I think you've told me before but what's the name of the diet you're on?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76