A Very Dewy Ramble -- ✏️5 Minute Freewrite Day 237✏️ -- "Dew"

in #freewrite6 years ago

Much a dew about nothing.

Dew…Mountain Dew, dew on the morning grass, taking a dew – what a silly word.

Do people ever say “dew” outside of the sticky and over-sugared soda? Since I’m from Michigan, I still say “pop” instead of soda. These days I don’t say it at all because I stay the heck away from it. I still have my vices, pop, or soda, is no longer one of them.

What exactly is dew anyways? Isn’t it just a fancy word for a little water or condensation. Well, I guess it couldn’t be condensation. Maybe instead of raining it’s just the world having a night-sweat.

Dewy.png

Dew is a very intriguing word although I don’t feel like it’s something that’s frequently used. It makes me think of descriptive storytelling – something someone would say/write immediately before painting a picture of a scene.

It’s a word that sets up a larger story. Dew is never the culprit or the reason something is happening – it’s a word condiment.

For example, the man didn’t slip on some dew. “It was a foggy morning. There was a light dew on the grass as Mark walked up to the cabin.” Dew doesn’t do anything directly, it’s just there.

Maybe I should make a thriller where dew is the killer. Kind of like The Mist, which I really didn’t care for (the movie version, haven’t read the book yet). “The Dew Is Coming For You!” – Title option, what do you think? What does dew do for you?



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 237. The prompt for this freewrite was "dew." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by!

Previous Freewriting Challenge Entries

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

Please read my latest article on airdrops, 5 New Airdrops To Join Today here

Sort:  

Hello @michaelluchies, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23