Deafening Silence ✏️5 Minute Freewrite Day 248✏️ -- 🤫🤫Suffers in Silence🤫🤫

in #freewrite6 years ago

“Suffers in silence.”

The sound of silence. Does “silence” really make a sound? Well, of course it doesn’t, but a lack of noise be an accelerant for other things, like thoughts.

I think for the most of us, silence is scary. Maybe that’s why I never dedicate time to meditating even though I know there are tremendous benefits that come with it.

Silence is scary, and it’s damn lonely too. Even talking to yourself provides some company and comfort.

But why am I, and others, scared of silence? Maybe it’s just me, but I’m pretty sure it isn’t.

Are we scared to be alone with ourselves? Are we not comfortable in our own skin enough to just be present in the moment? Or is it that we yearn for the company of others so much that without it we start to deteriorate?

I wish I could be more comfortable in silence rather than feeling an internal need to surround myself with sound and distractions. I often work with four computers, each with a different distraction of some sorts, from my Steemit stats to my social media pages to a mindless reality series on Netflix for some background noise. I feel that I need this noise just to prevent my mind from taking over.

I don’t suffer in silence as much as my mind refuses for their to be silence of any kind. It will create noises instead of allowing me peace, which is a blessing and a curse.



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 248. The prompt for this freewrite was "suffers in silence." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by!

Previous Freewriting Challenge Entries

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

Please read my latest article on airdrops, 5 New Airdrops To Join Today here

Sort:  

I love silence, generally it's hard for me to concentrate on anything without it.

And it's the complete opposite for me. I wonder why that is?

I like your unique interpretation of today's prompt.Silence is deafening sometimes but as student it is crucial for me to study peacefully lol

Haha, yeah, that makes sense. For most that's the case. I just wen with the phrase and ran with it for 5 minutes.

I don't have a problem with silence and when I'm working on something I can't even listen to music, which is such a pity...
Anyway, here is today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-249-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-bath

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22