Brow Worries -- ✏️5 Minute Freewrite Day 223✏️ -- 🤨🤨Eyebrow🤨🤨

in #freewrite6 years ago

Out of all of the things a person can be self-conscious about, eyebrows have to be among the silliest. I know this, and yet I can’t help it.

001.jpg

I was a Sophomore in high school, living in Kalamazoo, Michigan. I had started my first romantic relationship, well, it wasn’t romantic, but I think you understand what I’m talking about. In the hallways during a lunch period, she (Leslie) introduced me to one of her friends. Her friend immediately whispered something into her ear and giggled.

I shook her hand, we talked for a minute or two, and then she left. As you can imagine, I was very interested in knowing what this girl (Carly) had whispered to Leslie. She kept telling me not to worry about it, but as someone with OCD, that can be an impossible task. “He really needs to pluck his eyebrows,” she said.

My eyebrows? Before this point, I had never even thought of my eyebrows as something to worry about. I didn’t realize that they were overly bushy or beginning to combine into a single brow.

A couple of weeks later I had convinced my mother to take me into an electrolysis to have hairs removed, which was awfully painful at the time.

After 15 years, they are still something I worry about. Not often though. A quick shave helps me keep them tame. I’m not sure if this was a positive experience or one that has scarred me, but either way it did change my life in a small way.



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 223. The prompt was "eyebrows." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by! Today I just ran with what came to my head about the topic of eyebrows, which reminded me of something that happened to me in high school. Please feel free to leave me comments.

Previous Freewriting Challenge Entries

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

  • Ormeus is a new cryptocurrency backed by a "fully-audited" mining operation. They are giving away coins in exchange for simple bounty actions (follow on Twitter, Join Telegram channel, etc.). Enter here.

Screenshot (554).png

  • Bethereum: Social betting platform Bethereum (which has a unique coin and working beta), recently reopened their fun bounty program (you can even bet your bounty points on sporting events. Over 20,000,000 coins are up for grabs. Join the bounty program here.



  • Presearch: Earn PRE tokens for searching, and you can start with 25 free PRE if you sign up by 5/31. Presearch is building a full decentralized search engine and they already have a very useful search tool that you can use today and earn coins for using. Click on the banner to get started and click here.

  • Earn.com: Earn $1 in Bitcoin each time you complete a small task. Join here.

Sort:  

When emotionally traumatic things are imprinted early, they subconsciously become part of the beginnings of the thought path for most all future thoughts, reinforcing the initial traumatic effect. Understanding your own psychology & spending time & effort to detach from the ego might help you laugh & let those eyebrows get bushy, they’re there for a reason 🙈

How about shaving the eyebrows of that puppy...lol. it was a nice story altogether

Hahahaha, no way! That's my Chewy. Thanks!

Carly's a dick.

Loved your writing though! ;)

lol, thank you!

isn't it funny how one critical comment can impact us for the rest of our lives...
Maybe you are going to take 40 % off your writing time today? 🤣 Better not. 5 minutes is such a deal!!!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-224-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-40-off

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88