My One Broken Bone -- ✏️5 Minute Freewrite Day 227✏️ -- 💀💀Bones💀💀

in #freewrite6 years ago

I’ve broken one single bone in my entire life. For someone who considers himself to be accident prone, this is quite the accomplishments. I’ve had cuts, bruises, concussions, scars, stitches, major sprains, and more, but only one broken bone.

But this was not just any broken bone. Sometime during my 9th or 10th grade year, I broke the big toe on my left foot. However, I did not know that it was broken. Without proper treatment, which of course I didn’t get because I didn’t even know it was broken, the bone regrew…in the wrong direction.

Bones Image.png

The bone, which had a mind of its own, decided to grow horizontally instead of vertically. It looked like another toe was trying to peak out from the side of my big toe. If I didn’t have it treated surgically, I would eventually lose the use of my foot.

I had to have a rare surgery where the bone was sawed off, fused together, and then a 2-inch bolt was inserted into my big toe front-to-back. To this day I am not able to bend that toe, but at least I can use my foot.

I have strong and stubborn bones, I guess that’s better than the alternate. I just hope that the next time I break something, I realize it before it regrows in the wrong direction.



This is my entry for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Day 227. The prompt for this freewrite was "bones." This writing is unedited and was typed in 5 minutes, so please follow my blog for more polished examples of my writing, and thank you for stopping by!

Previous Freewriting Challenge Entries

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

  • Bethereum: Social betting platform Bethereum (which has a unique coin and working beta), recently reopened their fun bounty program (you can even bet your bounty points on sporting events. Over 20,000,000 coins are up for grabs. Join the bounty program here.



  • Presearch: Earn PRE tokens for searching, and you can start with 25 free PRE. Presearch is building a full decentralized search engine and they already have a very useful search tool that you can use today and earn coins for using. Click on the banner to get started and click here.

  • Earn.com: Earn $1 in Bitcoin each time you complete a small task. Join here.

Sort:  

I thought I broke my big toe once but I think I just severely sprained it. Probably around the same age you broke yours. I think I was in 9th grade. I just remember it being really bruised and I just taped it up so it wouldnt move and I kept playing basketball on it. lol

Oh wow. Toes are something you take for granted until something is wrong with them.

Yeah Ive whacked my little toe on stuff more times than I can remember, always wonder if it ever broke but if it did it grew back normally. Its been super black and blue a few times lol

If you donate 1 SBD or STEEM to @a-0-0 I will resteem your last post to over 72,500 followers on my 2 accounts @a-0-0 and @a-a-a

Oh no!!! That must have been terrible!! It makes you realize how important every part of our body is!

Terrible thing! Must have been pretty awful!
Anyway, here is today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-218-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-clouds

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88