Day 78: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: pen

in #freewrite6 years ago

Imgur

Please welcome our newest freewriters @syzegy @girlbeforemirror @mel1ss

Every day, I am inviting you to visit one and leave some comments and votes. Today, please visit @snrm

Prompt: pen

Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.

  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

An Article and an Offer

I came across this article on freewriting. My take is that she doesn't think it is a good idea to post the freewrites but to polish them up first. Well, most of you already do that and I think you all fix spelling and all of that.
I do like her point to take a freewrites ever so often and develop it into a longer story. Again, many of you already do that anyway. But I wanted to let you know about this article and you can make up your own mind what you think.

If you do want to work on your pieces and need some help, the writers in the Isle of Write discord welcome you all to use the fiction fjord to get some feedback. They all are really nice!!

Contests

Voting

Remember to check your voting power. Do not vote for a while if you are under 90!
https://www.steemnow.com/ or use https://steemworld.org/

Here is an excellent article explaining how to maximize your vote. It helps you to grow to vote wisely!!

And here is a counter opinion on voting by our freewriter @improv

This post is talking about using your vote for maximum curation and our fellow freewriter @miniature-tiger won this week!! He knows how to do this! Congrats! Read the post here

Staying Legal

This is an excellent article by @dmcamera on how to use images legally. A must read!!

Discord

Remember, we have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join . https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

If you like this and want more people to come out and play - resteem!

Morpheusfreewriter@celestal.jpg
Curtesy of @celestal

Also, I would love it if you all check out each others #freewrite and spread some love :)
@ackhoo @ahmadmanga @ana-maria @arbitrarykitten @alvinauh @alxgraham @annhoyblog @abyni
@bashadow @bloghound @brisby @byn @btcnoodle @binkyprod @brazen
@chuazm @citizenzero @creationofcare @cecicastor @cikxaijen @celestal @cvmidwife @cecirod1218
@deaconlee @deemarshall @dennisauburn @dmcamera @dfrankle @digitalmutt @debbietiyan @daithilifereport @deirdyweirdy
@ecoinstant @elizacheng @ellievallie @eggstraordinair
@f3nix @fitinfun @felt.buzz @fishyculture @foffelius @freedomtowrite
@gniksivart @girlbeforemirror
@improv @iyanpol12 @imcesca
@janine-ariane @jayna @jewels3 @jie28 @jjwriter85 @jkiw @johnwjr7 @jbn @jrhughes
@knightengale
@littlenewthings @littlescribe @lenapena @lucylin
@long888
@marcoriccardi @marillaanne @melinda010100 @miniature-tiger @mydivathings @maverickinvictus @molovelly @mrslauren @mr-neil @mountainjewel @mkkenny @mwoodall @mel1ss
@nathanthewise @navaneeth @not-a-bird
@omra-sky @old-guy-photos @olaivart
@preparedwombat
@rainbowme @raj808 @rok-sivante @rensoul17 @racemlaadhar @rubertd
@shanibeer @sharoonyasir @simgirl @snook @stinawog @sayee @slhomestead @steemitgraven29 @someoneusual @svashta @saryn @starfall @snrm @syzegy
@tezmel @themerrylotus @theprettysoul @thereikiforest @topkpop @tpkidkai @tegoshei @tattoodjay @thisgirl @thechosenwhan @the-real-coral
@valorforfreedom
@wandrnrose7 @whatilearned @whatisnew @wildwoman @wonderwop
@yomibolo @yadah04

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

How to make Ginger Tea

Home Remedies for a Cold

In the Garden

Henry- A Short Story

For a Friend

Author Reading - Nose Hair

Freewriter Challenge

Sad - A poem

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Here is my freewrite for today. Sorry it's kind of late. Winter break is over, so I have to wait until after school now. :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@abyni/the-artist-5-minute-freewrite-pen

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/day-78-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pen-by-keangaroo

Thank you for the prompt!
Am I really required to post it as is, not cleaning up the typos?
If I wrote it long-hand, you wouldn't see all those typos. So, is this a test of tying skills? I blew the world'd record in high school, on an IBM electric typewriter. Negative 74 words per minute. I could not make this up.
Tell me I can clean up the typos
The phone rang in the middle of it all.
I kept going.

You can totally clean up the typos @carolkean lol

I'm a terrible typist. When I type for 5 minutes the result is almost indistinguishable as English!
I think we're all aware that many of us are not strictly speaking freewriting, but what the hell, we're having fun.

hahaha - of course, you can clean up the typos. And work it into a longer story if you want. I think I am going to write up a new intro post to clear that up. But if you don't want to clean it up - that is up to you as well. But everyone does clean up theirs lol
I often use the dangerous writing app and of course you keep going - otherwise, it all disappears on you. And with the help of g
Grammarly it is really easy to clean it all up. Just know that on steemit, you have to manually correct, in the app and on busy, you can click on the correct spelling and it replaces it.

I wrote this yesterday.....feel free use anything you want in it....<3

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@snook/easy-how-to-for-mariannewest-s-daily-freewrite-challenge

This made me laugh out loud! Love how you wrote your comment! I had all the same thoughts my first time...but I thought no one would want to read it with missing words haha

A great response and thank you for it!! It always surprises me how some people think they have the right to judge others or decide what is worthy. Anyway - best to ignore and keep on going. We, my friend, have started something good!! And we can be very proud of that.

Indeed, don't even bother too much..things as they are are perfect. Tags and judgements ruin this world. You both did something so great guys and you'll be rewarded for it.

Thank you so much for visiting everyone...

My pleasure :-))

Thank you @brisby for the reminder :) Click it like a Pen

Thanks to this prompt, I learned that a female swan is called a pen! :-) Here is my submission:

Pen.

Now I know it too, thanks!

Here's my contribution for Pen: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@digitalmutt/freewrite-challenge-pen-a-memory-of-pens

Thanks for keeping this up!

here is mine for today.........sorry so late

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@snook/pens-and-swords

My third attempt!! Definitely having fun writing these :) https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mel1ss/day-78-prompt-pen-5-minute-freewrite-challange

Hmmmm, I find myself reverting back to more reflective pieces instead of story writing when the prompt is so broad. I think its a more impressive skill to be able to reflect on something but tell it through a story, but I guess today's challenge won't be that day

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@chuazm/day-78-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58799.78
ETH 3205.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29