Freewrite Challenge: Pen (A Memory of Pens)

in #freewrite7 years ago

Good morning, Steem. This is my response to the daily freewrite challenge posted here: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-78-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pen

The prompt is : PEN

A Memory of Pens


Image: Pixabay

When I was a little girl, I had a magical pen. I could just click the buttons to choose between black, blue, green, or red ink. This fat, clunky thing was no kind of expensive writing instrument, but it's the pen I remember the most fondly.

It was a note-taking, story-writing, doodle-mastering magic wand of sorts. I wrote stories of adventures on wide-lined school paper, and I illustrated them. It hardly mattered at all if I couldn't spell all the words because my penmanship was probably almost indecipherable anyway.

I also acquired a a fine pen that came in the box for winning a speech competition in 4-H. The entire pen was covered in some kind of gold-covered plating, and I thought it was fine. See, I was going to grow up to become an astronaut/author/politician/all-around guru, and I would need a nice pen for that!

My mother actually taught me to type on her old typewrite that did not even need electricity. It was a noisy, stuck-keyed sort of machine that actually required some grace and skill to use. In her hands, it was faster than a pen; in my hands, not so much.

These days, I struggle to find a cheap pen in the bottom of my cluttered purse. I write with keys that click but never stick, I swipe my phone, I speak into a microphone.

I mostly abandoned pens, but I remember pens. My children barely grew up to know the struggle and the magic.

Sort:  

Oh, I still use pens!!! but I HAD a pen with all those colors as a kid!!! That was a GREAT pen to have loll

Thank YOU for bring back childhood memories!!

*Sorry I'm out of VP but really wanted to come read everyone's #freewrites.

Fun! Young people these days barely learn cursive, if they do at all. Still, I know the learn a lot of things that we didn't have to. I remember those four-color pens back in the day.

I know that 4 inks pen! Very well written freewrite..keep it up! :-)

Today I wore on my face a @mariannewest mask and - trying to reproduce her charming voice - I'm happy to proclaim that on this weekend you have the following options!

You have the choice of a single prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-6-2018-single-prompt-option

Or you can get adventurous and weave three 5minute freewrites into one story starting with this prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-6-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

Thanks so much @digitalmutt for sharing this #freewrite with us!


I'm starting to fall in love with the concept of doing a daily #freewrite. Check out my latest #freewrite (Day 78 - Pen) and let me know what you think =)


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewrite-challenge-day-78-pen

That's great. I love it. I left you one of my tiny upvotes. keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54