Day 78: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Pen

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

We've all heard the old saying

"The Pen is Mightier than the Sword" - some old guy that said it

I used to decipher it as, the knowledge and authority behind a pen is mightier than the violence and brute force of a sword.

But today, that comparison is out of place because we don't use swords anymore. At least, I hope that violence will slowly go the away with the sword in human history and diplomacy will take its place. Wishful thinking.

So, I'd like to update the adage a bit to reflect more current realities with a more common tool for a different time today.

"The Pen is Mightier than the Keyboard" - Me, and a lot of other people in the past. But I claim it here!

I'm an environmentalist and digital advocate, so I've always been using computers to take notes, to write, to read and to do almost everything that the pen and paper used to do! I didn't even draw on paper anymore but on my tablet. I did it for a purpose and it served that purpose, but did not serve me.

I want to make this saying reality again because I have found out that the Pen is indeed mightier than the Keyboard. The shift was initiated when I started a daily journaling exercise. There are so many benefits to journaling and I was (am?) such a conflicted individual.

I've heard of so many benefits of journaling but it didn't seem to work for me! I would type my thoughts and feelings onto a computer but it felt like a cold and meaningless exercise. It all changed one night, I had a sleepless night with so many thoughts running through my head but my laptop was dead!

So, I dug up some paper and a pen to start writing! The impact of each word in my mind and, strange as it may sound, in my soul was so much stronger as I wrote down my thoughts. I just felt like I received a new voice to channel my thoughts that wasn't available before.

Indeed, there are many studies that show how much more beneficial for the brain and psyche it is to write than to type. So, I encourage you all. Dig out that old pencil box from High School / College, buy a notebook, and just start writing. It's a beautiful experience.


Imgur
The story above is for the Daily 5 Minute Free Write challenge by @improv and @mariannewest. It's quite a fun challenge, especially when using a tool like THE MOST DANGEROUS WRITING APP which was introduced by @maverickfoo. The app forces you to continuously write for the set amount of time or everything you wrote will disappear after a few seconds! Try it out!

follow_chuazm.gif

Sort:  

Well done...whether we defend our freedom with the pen, the keyboard, a brush..what's important is that we all fight for our values. But i'll try to go back to the pen...could be interesting :-)

Today I put on my face a @mariannewest mask and, trying to reproduce her charming voice, I'm happy to proclaim that on this weekend you have the following 2 freewriting options!

You have the choice of a single prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-6-2018-single-prompt-option

Or you can get adventurous and weave three 5minute freewrites into one story starting with this prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-6-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

I really enjoyed reading this, well done! :)

I'm fairly new to freewriting so it'd be awesome if you had some time to check out my latest post :) https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mel1ss/day-79-prompt-books-5-minute-freewrite-challange

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45