First Day of 2018 - In the Garden

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It is a balmy 70 degree Fahrenheit - that is 21 Celsius - and it seems like a perfect day to do some gardening.

Especially since two of my little Dudes are here and they are busy building additions to their clubhouse. I am hoping that no apple trees will be cut this time.

I have to admit that finding this little beauty had something to do with wanting to spend some more time looking for other hidden treasures.

tomato.JPG

And we weren't disappointed. When I pulled back a big mat of dried up Bermuda grass - what do I find nestled between a couple of pieces of urbanite?

hidden squash.jpg

A beautiful winter squash!! I didn't even remember that I planted one in that area. But I tend to plant squash all over in the hope that the big leaves of the vines will cover and choke out the Bermuda grass. So far, the grass is winning.

Here is another look at the squash.

squash.jpg

This time, it is sitting on top of the urbanite wall. Here, I said it again. Urbanite. In case you don't know what that is, allow me to explain.

Urbanite is the term many Permaculture and sustainability-oriented people use for broken concrete. This is a building material readily available and it is free. It can be turned into walls, walkways, and so much more.

Free is obviously a wonderful thing, but by using urbanite we divert truckloads of concrete from ending up in the landfill. It also means that nothing new needs to be manufactured for the building project. The benefits of reusing the urbanite coming from replacing a driveway or a sidewalk, for example, are far-reaching.

It hits the three R's of sustainability. Reduce, reuse, recycle - something we need to keep in mind with everything we do.

Since I had young helpers at hand, we decided that mowing the lawn (weeds which do not get watered) and got out the push mower.

lawnmower.jpg

They had lots of fun! For about 2 minutes. But a little workout was doing me good.

We haven't had rain for many months now and the deciduous trees are losing their leaves. But we still have some green in the garden and now is the time to grow brassicas and leafy greens. Those, I'll show you next time. For now, we are happy with our cut weeds.

garden.jpg

And let me leave you with a couple more pictures of our surprise squash. It just might become dinner tonight!

squash 2.JPG

squash 1.JPG

This is an entry to the FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY hosted by the lovely @lenasveganliving

THE RULES ARE:

Post a photo of fruits or vegetables (it can be from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, RECIPES ARE WELCOMED)
Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
Mention the creator @lenasveganliving

Come and join the fun!!

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Henry- A Short Story

For a Friend

Author Reading - Nose Hair

Author Reading - Oh Tannenbaum

A typical prompt

Weird Sky

Freewriter Challenge

Rocky the Super Mom

Sad - A poem

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Once again it is way too cold here to even set foot outside at -8 degrees Fahrenheit lol.

Would much rather be out gardening like you are today! That Squash looks pretty huge from the pictures, nice harvest!

Arghhh. -8 Fahrenheit - that is way cold. Brrr. Hope you have a cozy nice warm house and don't need to set a foot outside!!
There are actually times when I miss winter. that is when we used to craft a lot, read and just rest up. Here, there is always something to do outside...

Yeah I get that for sure. There are so many days where I just stay huddled inside to watch movies and be on my computer so I can't complain :).

I still choose to stay in a "cold" place like Chicago simply because I love the changing of seasons. There is no better feeling than the first warm day of Spring and the first brisk day of Fall.

What a happy surprise! I'm sure that squash will be delicious. 😋

I hope so!! I'll let you know next week :)

Reading about gardening while having -13C here in Toronto it's quite unusual and I think I should come for visi, lol.

Nevertheless, I really enjoyed reading about your garden and I learned something new again. You have so much experience and knowledge about sustainability Dear Marianne, I really admire you. Thank you so much for another wonderful entry and I look forward to read more about your garden 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

PS: I hope the squash was delicious :)

I think you should visit!!! Too cold! I had a Canadian friend stay with me for a couple of winters. She fled every year...

Oh really? How wonderful that you are accustomed to us Canadians, lol.
Although, it will take a little bit more planning for me, hopefully I could come next year. Thank you so much Marriane, you are very sweet XOXO

We’re only harvesting ice cubes where I live!

CONGRATULATIONS! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

Thank you so very much!!!

WOW

a balmy 70 degree Fahrenheit

NICE!!

Hi Marianne. I just got this email from Caleb:

"mom marianne just left and the envelope didnt have money, i dont have her number can you please e-mail her and ask if she is 100% positive it was inside the envelope"

I am brain dead and going to sleep now...

so sorry - gave him the wrong one. Going back right now.

Done. Corrected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00