My Freewriting Journey: My Escape from Mental Constipation

in #freewrite6 years ago

mental-constipation.png

@mariannewest of the Awesome #freewrite challenge is inviting those of us who have posted more than 20 freewrites to write a post about our freewriting experience along with link to our favorite freewrites thus far. You can check out the details and latest freewrite here

My husband introduced me to the steemit blogging platform last October (2017) and I was really excited at the idea of being able to write again… and to actually make money at it? Holy beans! THAT was a new and exciting development!

As I looked into the steemit site, I got more and more excited. This felt like HOME. Seriously, I blogged on livejournal for 13 years, almost always at least once a day, sometimes 4+ times a day for months at a time. I have sorely missed the interaction and deep conversations that arose from that social site and have wanted something similar for ages. The more I looked through other steemit blogs, the more I felt like I had found that home again!

The Problem: (and it was a big one)

I couldn’t even THINK of where to begin. I was stuck, and stuck HARD. I would sit down to write and just internally freak out a little as the cursor sitting on the ocean of my blank page stared at me accusingly. I didn’t know where to start, I didn’t know what direction to take. I really wanted to share some of my creative writing, but I had been fighting against severe writer’s block for so long, I wasn’t even sure if I COULD write anymore. I had been perusing the site for a MONTH and had written NOTHING.

The Solution:

I somehow stumbled upon @mariannewest and her #freewrite. I remember quite vividly thinking to myself, “Five minutes? I can’t write anything in five minutes! I have never been able to write short stories. There is NO WAY I can write a short story… and in five minutes? This woman is nuts if she thinks someone can write a good story in five minutes. I can think of very few things that can be done in a satisfying way in five minutes, and those things aren’t things that should be done on steemit!”

And I carried on my way.

Then I saw the #freewrite tag again, and with my horrible attitude about five minutes and the ability to write short stories, I looked at it again. This time I had spent a day or two floundering around, my “create a post” page mind numbingly blank, the cursor blinking at me as though that might spur me into action. I was ready. I took my bad attitude and thought, “Well fine then. I will write for five minutes. But it’s going to suck.”

My other, slightly more positive self said, “Okay, but if it sucks, at least everyone will know you only spent five minutes on it, so they won’t expect anything! Go You!”

That, for some reason, was very VERY reassuring. The lowered expectations got me. I guess I love the idea of rising above expectations, but only if they’re really really low expectations! :) This is a sad, but true statement about my inner self

Thumb-hat.png

Look at that, I didn't even make cool title covers back then!

My First Freewrite: A Hat Out of Your Hair Madam? wasn’t great. BUT I wrote. It was even a three part weekendfreewrite with three separate prompts, so I got to write a story in FIFTEEN minutes instead!

And I loved it! I felt a slight pressure to get a story out that fast, but when the timer went off for each prompt and I had to work the nest prompt into the story… it was exciting to me!

I was able to finish it right up with one last sentence and I was THRILLED. I had done it! I had written a somewhat surprisingly morbid story (not a style that I ever really thought I’d write in… if only I’d known then! Lol!) and it wasn’t bad at all!

I had written something that I didn’t HATE and I was finally starting a blog. A new blog, not based on anything I was doing or an adventure I was on, but just by writing fiction… my dream!!!

I was instantly hooked and wanted to write more and more… I thought I’d write for three or four months and then maybe start to make some money, and maybe start to get some comments or feedback or followers. Instead… well… things went much better than I expected. Thanks to the support of the freewriters, I was encouraged to write again and again. I got upvotes and the next day I woke up to find that my first freewrite had made almost $18.00!!! I was over the freaking MOON! I knew it wasn’t going to be a constant thing, but I was thrilled anyway!
Since then I have written so many freewrites, but weekend freewrites are still my favorites. The 5 minute writing exercises have stoked my creative juices and I’ve written a longer (30,000 words) story that I posted in serialized form on my blog.

Chuck-300.png

A story of a man who is given a magic bag full of promises of a life changing adventure… and a journey through the unexpected to find his fate. CHUCK: The Serendipitous Journey

I’ve entered and won some contests (and lost others) and I’ve written some freewrites that are inspiring me to write longer versions of them (I’m working on a longer version of The Secret Me and Family Secrets at the moment!)

Thumb-Cover-One-Secret.png

Thumb-secret-me-part2.png

About a girl with some sort of powers that have been passed down from her mother and her Grandmother and who knows what it all entails? It’s quite an interesting story that is coming together into something much bigger than I had originally planned!

I’ve met friends and collaborated on one story with @snook and @wandrnrose7 just as a totally unplanned impromptu thing that turned into this amazing story called Love Always WIns I also did a reading of the story on Dtube, if you want to see and hear what I’m really like!)

Thumb-25-love-always-wins-readingsm.png

I even took it a step further and did a Live! Freewrite at a local open mic night. I had the audience give me a character name (I got “Amanda HugNKiss”) and a topic (The Industrial Revolution) and I told a story on the fly! It was crazy nerve wracking, but I LOVED it. It had all of the elements of a freewrite, but with the addition of a captive audience whose reactions I could SEE right in front of me AS I created the story out of thin air! That was a crazy feeling!

Thumb-open-mic-cover.png

My All time favorite freewrites are probably these:

Thumb-Her-Eyes.png

Her Eyes: A Love Story This one is a love story, but more about how he sees her, what he loves about her… things that aren’t typically considered ‘attractive’ or whatever, but just pure… love from his perspective. I love how this one turned out. Short, but sweet.

Thumb-Her-Fondest-Memory.png

This one Her Fondest Memories is another favorite, and another on the topic of love. I literally cried after I wrote it and went back through to reread it and fix my typos. It came from something that my husband says to me quite often and was inspired by thinking of the things I will remember years from now when I think about our lives together.

thumb-10-familyskeletons.png

This one is probably more creepy/horror than others, but it felt very intense and I like how I captured this guy losing his mind and spiraling out of control. A weird thing to be proud of? Perhaps. Still, I like the writing I did here as well The Family Skeletons

And some of my freewrites are strongly based on real life experiences that I’ve had and I guess you could say that I’m working through some of my past traumas in life through writing about the way things might have been…

thumb-24-done.png

Done definitely has a lot of influence from one of my stepfathers who was a very angry man. He’s still alive as far as I know… but this story is probably something that happened in my imagination more than once (I know, I know, what an awful thing to say! Did I not tell you I’m a bit morbid?)

thumb-teddy-19.png

Teddy the Protector Ahhh… if only Teddy Bears could actually come to life and protect innocent children. That’s all I’m going to say on that one.

thumb-12-dolphins.png

And, let’s end on a better note, shall we? I have been inspired to write absolutely True Stories through freewrite prompts as well. Happy times like when my kids first went Swimming with Dolphins!

Thumb-9-storm.png

AAAnnnnnnd not so fun times when they were traveling on the sailboat from Turks and Caicos to the Dominican Republic and were hit by a huge storm and a rogue wave in my side of the story Living the Storm

All that being said, sorry for the novel length of this post!!! Freewrites have changed my life. I love them and have been inspired so much by the writing, but even moreso the community that gathers around you when you find them. The support and encouragement from other writers, other people that just want to encourage others… it is tremendous! I have never felt so accepted and appreciated in a group of people outside of my family and I love it. I encourage everyone to give it a try… if you’ve ever thought about writing or just need something to take your mind off of life in general, give it a try. It’s only five minutes, what have you got to lose?

One last thing: MY PROCESS goes something like this:

First, I don't like to see the prompt until I'm ready to write. I have an online timer bookmarked on my laptop and as soon as I've read the prompt, I go to my "Writing" google doc (that stays open all the time for ideas, writing, etc) and I start the timer and just write.

I always go back and fix typos, because I find them distracting otherwise. I never edit actual sentence structure or otherwise, unless I post that I have done editing. Other than that, it's just the words that pour out of my brain. Sometimes I'm not even really aware of what I'm writing until I'm done. I never know what the story is going to be about when I start typing and oftentimes I don't even know where the story is going when I'm half way through. The "To be continued" stories are ones that even I don't know what happens next... until I write it!

My husband @serapium lovingly refers to my writing style as "verbal vomit" because I just seem to sit, look at the keys and then my fingers take off seemingly without thought and just spews words out on the page.

NOW I'll let you go! Thank you for your time!

Thanks for those intrepid souls who read all the way to the end! You have an amazing amount of stamina for reading my ramblings!!!

Sort:  

Byn, it has been so wonderful to meet you here and to read some of your awesome pieces and also to take part in one with you! You have done amazing things, and that open mic? I'm still in all of you. I love getting to know you through your writing. I'm going to read through the list again, some of them I haven't had a chance to read yet. I'm always pressed for time, but I've shared this post so that I can have quick access to it. Keep being the marvelous you that you are!

Thank you so much. Your support has meant a lot to me and I LOVED the freewrite we did together with snook! It was really a beautiful thing and I hope we can do it again sometime!

Thank you for your wonderful support all the time and for this comment as well.
@byn

I'm sorry @Byn, but you will have to take my 100% upvote here lol. I loved reading through your journey here and I think that you and your stories are fantastic. I see some that I've missed, I'll have to do a little backtracking. 😃

I'm surprised all your stories don't get $18, they are that good. I love reading your #freewrites one day I wanna write like you or fiction, whichever comes first. Great job on your over 20 review. I'm going to go delete mine now. 😂

Lol, don't you dare put yourself down! :)

Thank you so much for the comment. I really love the freewrite community and all of the story and love <3

You're sweet.😊

Congrats on getting into the club @byn. I love freewriting, but I do not think I have gotten to 20 yet. I was on livejournal too, back it the day. I forgot about it until you mentioned it. There was sure no money in it, but lots of creativity.

Ah man, livejournal was my real journal. I worked through some major heavy shit on there and had some really solid friends. We're still on facebook, but it's just not the same. I've missed it!

I seem to have an ebb and flow with freewrites at this point, but it is mostly because I get all inspired to write other things now and run out of time! Thank you for reading and taking the time to leave me a comment! :)

@byn

Fantastic journey!

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

@sneakyninja you used the wrong name for your reply loll

OMG you're right! Wow, I've been tired lately, but this is a major oversight. @byn the credit for your post being in The Daily Sneak should totally go to @snook!

And then I responded from the wrong account! It just keeps getting funnier!

OMG @sneakyninja YOU just cracked me up!!!!!!!!! :D This is SO something I would do!!! LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

It's not like it was a secret that this account is run by @josephsavage (I include that in the footers of every edition of The Daily Sneak), but I do try to always use the right account when I reply to things.

Oh, wow! Thank you for letting me know. I will go check it out... probably more tomorrow when I feel a little more coherent.

Thank you again!
@byn

Byn - you are just so amazing and I love that you took us through your journey here on Steemit. I am so happy that you came across the freewrite and that you are now a friend!! Love that so much.
Btw. I know that life is funny. I haven't done a freewrite in a while..... too busy reading them and commenting lol
Love what you do!! You are amazing. And you know how loving families work. Sometimes, we are around more, other times, we are busy. But always happy to see each other. Glad you have lots of projects!!

Absolutely! My longest standing BFFs know that we might not see each other/talk often, but when we do, it is like no time has passed! I am so glad I found my steemit family! <3

That's a really interesting account of your epic journey. Fair play to you achieving so much in such a short space of time.
I had much the same problem getting started myself. I'd never blogged before and really didn't have a notion where to start.

Thank you! I've actually blogged and journaled a LOT, but I've never posted a lot of fiction... really rarely EVER have I posted fiction in public before, so that was definitely new!

I hope we both continue to have lots of luck going forward!
@byn

Congratulations byn! I've always enjoyed the stories about your family. I'm still jealous of the dolphins. You're so brave for doing a live freewrite. Major kudos! And way to go, Teddy! Here's to many more...🍷

P.S. I fix typos after posting sometimes.

Thank you! I'm going to be posting far too many stories of my family this month, so I'm glad someone enjoys them :)

I really appreciate the support and the comments you leave for me!

Thanks again
@byn

Well, I sure do not know what happened; how or why I missed so many of your stories and I apologize for that. Maybe it was the time I had other commitments or life just got in the way. It was definitely my loss. But thanks to this over 20 post I was able to catch up. You are so talented and an accomplished writer. What I still can't get over is your Live Freewrite at an open mic night! That has got to be a first. That took a lot of gonads...incredible! My (top) hat goes off to you @byn! Looking forward to the next phase of your amazing journey. : )

@whatisnew I am not surprised you have missed some. I'm sure I write too much for anyone to keep up... kind like when I talk too much! :) I really really appreciate the support. You are awesome. Thank you so much for reading all of this!

@byn

Dear @byn,

I read this the day you wrote it and LOVED it!! Loved it so much I sent it to the dailysneak LOLLL so wanted to wait to comment as I didn't know if they would pick the stories I suggested or not.....but they did :D

I love reading everyone's personal stories of how freewriting made you grow in everything and made Steemit what it is for you today.

You are one very special Lady and I'm SO SO happy we met <3

I love how no matter what you are YOU <3

You're awesome! I was so thrilled to see the Daily Sneak! You are wonderful and although I am envious of your gorgeous white hair, I just admire all of your amazing self so much!

Thank you for the curation/suggestion (not sure how to word that!) and for taking the time to read so many of my ramblings!!!

@byn

This 20+ freewrite club is giving me the possibility of reading a lot of very good stuff that I missed because, unfortunately, I can't read Steemit blogs all day long. :)

I'm very impressed by the variety of your freewrites. You master many different styles and genres, and I like your writing skills. You're gifted for telling and improvising (as you are for singing). I think I can learn a lot from you... you know, I'm always in search of ways to improve my English writing ;)

Wow! Thank you! What a fantastic compliment! I really appreciate your support. Thank you, you made my day!

@byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86