LIVE!!! Freewrite at Open Mic Night! (My First Time w/Improv Storytelling)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


open-mic-justme.png

I have been toying with the idea of doing a “Live” freewrite. I guess I shouldn’t put quotations around the Live, but around the “freewrite” instead, since technically I was speaking instead of writing.

Open-mic-kids-chipotle.png

Impromptu family meal at Chipotle before we went to our separate open mic coffeehouses :) @knightengale Paris (soon to be @loliboofae if her steemit account is ever verified!!!!) @serapium, @abyni and Kainan with me)

open-mic-kainan-abyni.png

I actually got a rare photo with two of my kids before the show, my oldest son Kainan and of course @abyni our younget

Anyway, I digress. Last night I went to one of the weekly open mic nights at a local coffeehouse. I decided that it was the night. I was ready. I was there with my daughter @abyni who always opens the night with her ukulele or guitar music and singing with her beyond gorgeous voice and the guy in charge brought the list over for her to sign up. He was surprised when I grabbed the list and said, “Ah, I knew you were the one that got her into this stuff!”

open-mic-chocs-abyni.png

@abyni went up first to start the night off right. She has such a beautiful voice!

When it was just about to be my turn, I had a sudden bout of nerves. What the hell was I thinking? This was going to be SO much harder than a freewrite! I would have to actually See people’s faces while I was creating a story out of thin air! Would that be overly distracting? What if I saw a look of boredom? Or disgust? Or…

My mind was slapping me a little silly over it, but then I decided that it was too late now and even if I failed, it was good… because I’d done what I set out to do.

Thankfully, I’m far more comfortable on stage in front of people than I ever am in a room with people!

I got up… and here is what happened:

If the Dtube link isn't working, you can watch on YouTube, but HOPEFULLY Dtube will cooperate, because I'd MUCH rather support them!

open-mic-patrick.png

@serapium being his typical self <3

Other Writing of mine that you might be interested in:

Her Fondest memory

Thumb-Her-Fondest-Memory.png

The Secret Me

Thumb-Cover-One-Secret.png

Her Eyes: A Love Story

Thumb-Her-Eyes.png

Meet Our Puppy!

Thumb-meet-Tiberius.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is so awesome! I'm so proud of you. I could never do that lol!

Thank you so much! I hate leaving my house, but when I do, I might as well get on a stage. :)

I commenting now so i can remember to watch it later. then you will get another comment :-D

Ha! This sounds EXACTLY like something I'd do!

OK I have to admit, you should do more of those!!!! This was so funny.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it and than you for watching :)

I'm SO sorry. I watched your video thisafternoon and was going to come back and comment and............... I fell asleep and then forgot :(

and here is my review................

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!! :D

YOU Amazed me how well you did with everything!!! :D great, great job!!!

So you're saying that I put you to sleep??? :) It's like a bedtime story!

Thank you @snook You are amazingly encouraging as always!

That was fantastic!!! You just leveled the freewrite up to a whole other level!!!!
Going into tomorrow's prompt!!

Thank you @mariannewest It seemed like a crazy challenge to me, so I had to give it a try! When I was done, the emcee came up and said, "Well.... THAT was different!" :)

Different in an awesome way!! I so loved it!! You are creativity times 1000!!!

Can you send me the YouTube link to put in the post? Please :)

I can, although I'd rather you just link to the post. I'm having issues even using YouTube because they completely deleted one of my (kid friendly!) channels and I'm somewhat beyond upset about it!

I am going to link to your post as well. YouTube sucks but sadly, DTube does too. But I am hoping that DTube will become better...

I understand. That's why I ended up deciding to put the YouTube video in Rhett post too. :/

This is true improvisation - brilliant. I admire your courage. I had recently allowed myself to consider a podcast, and even that is putting myself out there more than I normally do. And that's just voice. Thanks for the inspiration.

And cool story btw :)

Thank you so much! I had NO idea what was going to happen and at the last minute just hoped that I didn't completely embarrass myself!

No hint of that - you nailed it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51