Lasagna|Mass Production|Recipe with images - an adapted version from when I was 9

in #food6 years ago

Lasagna Recipe

with salad.jpg

Welcome to my first ever #whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie, I was nominated by both @rwedegis and @happycrazycon some time ago and now have a moment to share one of my favourite meals with you.

This is also one of the first things I learnt to cook after pancakes and spaghetti bolognese which really is the base for the lasagna. My mum taught both me and my younger sister how to cook before we were ten, over time we have adjusted them and added more veggies but the base is still the same as are her instructions which never started with a teaspoon of this or a cup of that.

To this day my sister and I still get together and have cooking days which always leads to mass production of lasagna. We often give some away to our neighbours and split the rest, I still have two left in my freezer from this cook, and will have another cooking day in the near future.

Where do we start?

With the prep of course and what is required when chopping veggies, onions in particular? Onion Goggles! Yes, they are a thing. See my awesome pink ones that save from kitchen tears. I peel the carrots pre grating them but each to there own, some people like the extra fibre, my diet doesn't allow for it.

Side note I need to get a mini pair for my son as he was in the kitchen yesterday as I was preparing taco's and the onions from the mix was making his little eyes water. Cute but not funny. Well, maybe a little funny...

veggie prep.png

I think a pair of goggles would work well for him and harder for him to pull off. Children they rarely know what's best for themselves yet they are so determined to do things their way. I'm not sure this ever changes. lol... But before I get too far or too off topic, let's have a look at the ingredients...

ingredients.jpg

Ingredients

White Sauce

  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Plain Flour

This base can be used to make many white sauces, two common ones would be cheese sauce (add cheese) and garlic sauce (add garlic).

Bolognese Sauce

  • Lean Mince - as this is a mass cook there is a lot, you can use normal mince too but I like to think this is healthier.
  • Zucchini - just for some extra substance, it really has no flavour but soaks up whatever you are cooking it with.
  • Carrots
  • Minced Garlic
  • Tomato Paste
  • Tomatoes - Diced - I use tinned just cause it's already portioned for me and I am lazy
  • Tomato Soup - I am sure you can make your own but I don't have time for that
  • Worcestershire Sauce
  • Mixed or Italian Herbs
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Oil

Cook up some spaghetti and you have Spag Bog.

Lasagna

  • Pasta Sheets
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Grated Tasty Cheese
  • Combined with the two sauces above

Process

First, we make the white sauce and put it to the side out of the way. It is a simple roux - which is equal parts flour and fat, in this case, butter, mixed into a paste overheat and then add milk, continually stirring it as it thickens. I used skim milk but full cream would work.

The roux is a thickening agent that can be used as a base for many soups, stews, sauces and gravies.

White sauce mix.png

Next, add our prepared onions into a hot pan with some oil and garlic and saute until the onions begin to turn translucent. I love garlic so I would use more than required in most dishes.

There are many health benefits to eating garlic from lowering cholesterol to invigorating the hair and skin.

One my mother always told me as she added that extra tablespoon was that its good at keeping the common cold away, one I didn't know but do after researching for this post is that it's known back in the day to help remove a pesky splinter.

Place a piece of cut garlic over the splinter cut and cover with a bandage- and voila! Bye-bye splinter.

saute onions.png

Once the onions start to change you can add the meat, it's best if you break it up as who want's lumpy lasagna, I stir it often to avoid any burning, the element is still on high at this point as we will next be adding the cold ingredients and will need a hot pan to bring back to simmer.

You can use any type of mince, this is beef mince as it's most common in Australia and one I like a lot. If you don't like meat, exchange the meet for more veggies as a base.

brown meat.png

Once the meat is brown in goes the veggies to soften, this is not part of my mother's recipe but my sister and I often add veggies to her bases to hit the 5 veg quota for a healthy lifestyle. With the veggies goes the mixed herbs, Italian ones are better but I used what I had in the cupboard at the time. Chuck in the all the tomato components and stir until mixed in well.

add ingredients.png

Add the salt and pepper and don't forget the dash of Worcestershire Sauce which really brings out the flavour in the dish. Bring to the boil and then turn the dish on low to simmer away.

At this stage you could put some sauce aside for spaghetti bolognese as a change from lasagna, equally delish and the sauce always tastes better the next day.

dont forget the sauce.gif|simmer.gif


All the preparation is now done and it's time to pull it all together. First a layer of white sauce, then a pasta sheet, some bolognese sauce, grated cheese and repeat until the tin or tray is about a centimetre under the rim ending with the pasta sheet.

We didn't use all those pasta packets, I always over exaggerate when buying lasagna sheets for some reason. No worry they keep when in a dry place, so will be used in the sister cooking adventure.

Glutin intolerance? Use eggplant instead of pasta this also works well for the vegetarian option.

Pulling it together.png

The final step before cooking/freezing brings the dish together. Add the remnants of the bolognese sauce to the remaining white sauce. Add a scoop to the top of each lasagna, spread out with the scoop before sprinkling grated parmesan cheese on top and sealing with the lid or alfoil for cooking.

It not only tastes delicious but it stops the top sheet of pasta getting dry and nasty, no one likes a dry pasta.

final package.png

Cook it at 180 degrees Celcius I generally cook it for 20mins (40mins if frozen) with the lid on and then remove the lid and add more cheese and cook it for another 20minutes.

The extra cheese is not needed but I just love browned cheese on top of pasta and with the lid off it gives it a chewy crunch and a texture that is too hard to resist.

PicsArt_07-22-07.16.45.png

The obligatory selfie with the end result, we managed to get nine individual lasagnas, each will feed three people with a side salad or some chips. Not bad for an hours work.

Done and done.jpg

dots divider.png

The #whatscookingchallenge challenge a foodie challenge by @jaynie. Here are the current rules for the challenge as far as I know:

  1. Use the #whatscookingchallenge tag and tag me @jaynie in your post.
  2. Create and publish a post showcasing something that you have prepared in your kitchen which is either a) uniquely yours, or b) has been adapted and made your own. (The more elaborate the post the better, naturally...)
    This is NOT limited to "plates of food" - it can be preserves, snacks, baking anything!
  3. Accompany the post with at least 2 photos of whatever it is that you have prepared as well as a photo of you WITH your dish! Guys this is COMPULSORY - posts without the selfie... won't be considered
  4. Tag at least 5 (but not limited to) of your foodie friends that you think would like to participate.

I am not a huge tagger as I find it hard to compete in these so those I do tag don't feel the requirement to join in but if you do have an awesome recipe that you would like to share then give it a go. Without further ado, here goes:

@lynncoyle1 - who I am sure like me would have been tagged multiple times already so what is one more to the pot.
@viking-ventures - I am not sure if I have seen a foodie post from you but I am sure you can cook. :D
@mirrors - I would be interested to see something from your kitchen.
@simplymike - Show me some of those fresh veggies at their best.
@helenoftroy - I would be interested in what you feed your twins and the hubby in Malaysia.

Power Up and Steem ON!

dots divider.png

Want some inspiration or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

Babymoon - PART IIII - Singapore: The Conservatories [Flower Dome & Cloud Forrest]
#14 What is it? First to guess right wins!
Photo Fun Contest - Week 22 – “Wild Animals” Photography - Echidna

My hubby @shai-hulud is also a great steemian worth a follow, check out some of his below:

Alphabet Adventures Episode 9... "Academic"

Steemit Week 1: Who Are You
Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself.
Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House
Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts:

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine
Our Adoption Adventure Written by @shai-hulud, my amazeballs hubby

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

If you like any posts above and they are past seven days please consider upvoting a more recent post as these while very useful have already paid out.

Where else can you find me?

While most of my time is spent on Steemit, I do exist outside of it, happy to connect if you do too!

Health Blog - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Facebook - InsideOut Ostomy Life
Instagram - InsideOut Ostomy
Twitter - InsideOut Ostomy


Asapers.gif

One last thing! I am a founder of the @asapers and we have a profit-sharing curation post called Read me A.S.A.P. We curate from our followers so make sure you follow the @asapers if you want to be in with a chance to be curated next.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Steemit Bloggers

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, @steemitbloggers by @zord189
All images my own, my hubby's (as we combine after events and also take images on each other's phones) or directly sourced at the image with the exception of my #whatisit contest as that would give it away.
Source 7 Surprising Health Benefits Of Garlic

Sort:  

Holy Cow! That is some seriously efficient planning ahead there hon! And it looks amazeballs too! I did something similar when I was pregnant. I spent an entire day in the kitchen cooking and packing freezer meals. I prepared enough to feed my husband and I every night for a month. Then he walked out on us just after Jude was born and I had double the amount of prepped meals for myself hahaha!!

Well at least you had the bonus of double the food. I am sorry you had that happen to you though. My sister did something similar for me when we went to pick our son up. I came home to food for a month in our freezer. From risotto to curried sausages and thai curry to boot. Shes a great cook that cant eat very much anymore but is healthier for it. Lucky for me she still loves to cook. Thanks for the contest.😁

ha! Indeed lucky for you!!!! hahahaha :)

Oh no you didn't??!!

Good idea doing it in bulk like that! And onion goggles? that's a kick :) I grew up on an onion farm and spent the better part of my summers crying because of it lol

Big congrats on the curie too!!! :)

Haha yes I did! Hahaha... so excited I finally got my cooking post out. I need to get back to the positivity challenge but it will keep lol.

We only cook lasagna in bulk as it so easy to freeze and so messy to make whether you make one or nine.

Growing up on a onion farm, I'd live with my goggles on dorky or not. Haha, my niece laughed at me but the last laugh was on her as she had tears and I had smiles. Lol.

And thank you was excited to see curie come on, makes the hours I spent putting the photos together worth it lol... plus I got to eat lasagna for dinner last night which was super tasty with my home made chips.

geez, I just want lasagna right now @insideoutlet!

I wish my dad would have thought of the whole goggles thing, but could you imagine those tan lines as a teenager? 😎

@lynncoyle1 haha, the tan lines would have been hilarious lol... Some of the lines on Aussie blokes faces makes me crack up. lol...

Yeah, not a good look for a teenage girl lol😎

Awesome recipe and loads of fun when you can cook together! I think I will try this with my daughter-in-law! Perhaps my granddaughter would like to be a helper. I think I'd better get her some onion goggles though! A really brilliant idea!

That sounds like a great idea, your granddaughter would live yo be a helper and its always nice cooking with someone, im sure your daughter in law would love to spend the time making delish food. Good luck with it. The googles are a must when cutting lots of onions, saves the tears. I thought they were ridiculous when I was given them for Christmas one year. Now I use all the time. Haha.

Upvote & Follow. Really detailed post and looks great! Best wishes from Germany

@nils1990 thanks, it took some time to write up but I enjoyed writing it up and getting the images sorted as well as eating it lol...

I can NEVER get lasagna right whenever I do it...It's always too liquidy and it drives me CRAZY!

But hopefully following your recipe will put an end to that!! Thanks so much for sharing!

Plus, it looks delicious and I'm starting to get very hungry! Ha!

#steemitbloggers

Thanks for stopping by from #steemitbloggers, its such a great supportive community. The lasagna was delicious last night and there is still one left in the freezer for next week when Im too lazy to cook. Haha

If you want any more details just let me know. Alsi a hint about sloppy lasagna is to let it cool in the pan after cooking for a few minutes it lets the sauce settle and set a little which helps with the ooze. Good luck!

That’s a whole load of lasagne! I love lasagne - especially with tons of cheese on top - delicious 😋

Fantastic walk through for the cooking, the animations are great and really help demonstrate the process.

Love this post, although it made me hungry so I’m going to have to go and cook something myself now!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Haha, glad you liked it, it made me hungry writing it. I pulled one out of the freezer and had it for dinner this evening with the chips. 😁 thanks for the resteem too, I really appreciate that.

What a beautiful effort, so colorful and I bet the food would taste so delicious. Keep up the Good Work! Happy Weekend and Stay Blessed!

Thank you, it was so so tasty and the good work paid off as I got a curie from it. So a win on all accounts. Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate the kind words and the support.

looks like you had fun making this..I love lasagne, thr are so many creative ways of making this dish, but i love it using two cheese, one ofcourse parmesan. it looks delicious <3

The more cheese the better I think haha. The fun is had with the sister time the cooking is just a side effect haha. There are so many ways of cooking it which makes it quite a universal dish. The bases can make so many other dishes too which is good. Im glad im not the only one who loves it.

Lasagne is a favourite around here too. We should probably think about sourcing some of those containers, they seem like a good idea.

Nothing wrong with school of hard knocks as long as it doesn't cause too much damage ;D

Hey the containers are just from Red Dot down the street. I hate washing dishes and when cooking in bulk its hard to have that many containers lol. Im not sure they are great for the environment but my hands like it as they dont need to scrub a cheese burnt on pan. Lol.

Yeh probably not great for the environment but totally get you on the dish hating XD I think I just need to get the kids some new lunch boxes, we had these cute metal ones which were great when they were primary school aged but aren't really cutting it for growing teens and pre-teens, I fill them up and still have to buy them something when we're out coz they're STAAAAAAAARVING x_x

Haha, growing kids do that. I am amazed at what our little one can fit in and still be hungry. He could eat all day if we let him lol.

Grazing all day probably wouldn't hurt him anyway unless he doesn't have the metabolism for it (probably not a concern as I'm reasonably certain kids either have pocket dimensions or black holes for stomachs for the most part). Probably won't be long til he's squeezing in adult-sized portions and you're staring going wtf did he put it XD

@ryivhnn haha, I do wonder where the hell he puts it all now, its funny when his normally flat tummy goes all round until he poops. lol...

lol - I have done one foodie post - I think that's all I've done so far... I guess I'll get to do another one. It's almost time for me to can another lot of meatballs for spaghetti, so maybe I'll show you the rebel canner's method for that. (That means it's not a USDA-approved way - just what's been done for a long time.)
Catch you later!

Haha i look forward to it approved or not lol. I love eatting and cooking I dont mind but i hate the dishes that goes with it.

I'm totally with you on the dishes one.
The last bit of this beef mince has gone on hamburgers - and I wasn't taking pictures of that one, lol. Next package (we can buy, like 10 lbs at a time, which is nice), it will definitely be time for meatballs as we're down to the last jar of meatballs and sauce.
At my elevation (5000 ft), canning any meat takes nearly 6 hours! (I'm loathe to get a pressure canner, because that has inherent risks - and this works!)

Well what ever works. I think mass production saves dishes but the job is always so huge that it takes a while to pull the strenght and effort to do it lol. My freezer is looking rather bare atm. So will need to do some more prep soon or ill have to start cooking nightly lol. Who wants to do that. Lol.

lol - yep.
I only use about 3-4 lbs of the meat at a time, so whenever I get a log of it, I try to do some for canning first. Then, some hamburgers and tacos after that. For canning, it's usually meatballs or chili. Four lbs of meat will make 4 quarts of meatballs - and the huge can of tomato sauce will handle that plus four pints of sauce to add to the spaghetti... so four meals all at once. :-)

So you can the meatballs to preserve them for later eatting.you dont freeze them?

Yep! At your elevation (assuming you're not more than 1000' in your area), it takes about three hours to can meat - though do look up all the old advice about it. They did it all the time in the 50s until the USDA started getting involved (and maybe a lobby group for one of the pressure canner companies... that's my theory anyway.)
For me, it's nearly double that, lol. But I haven't lost a jar of meat yet. (Touching wood, really quickly here!)
For me, it's really important because we live in a small flat without adequate freezer space.

That makes sense. Perth is super flat so no elevation here lol. My parents do live above 1000ft as they live in victoria in the snowy mountains. Not that they can anything. They live on a huge property and have heaps of freezer space so buy in bulk and freeze everything. They only shop once a month as they live so far from the main shopping areas its a beautiful place to live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64833.23
ETH 3558.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35