You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lasagna|Mass Production|Recipe with images - an adapted version from when I was 9

in #food6 years ago

lol - I have done one foodie post - I think that's all I've done so far... I guess I'll get to do another one. It's almost time for me to can another lot of meatballs for spaghetti, so maybe I'll show you the rebel canner's method for that. (That means it's not a USDA-approved way - just what's been done for a long time.)
Catch you later!

Sort:  

Haha i look forward to it approved or not lol. I love eatting and cooking I dont mind but i hate the dishes that goes with it.

I'm totally with you on the dishes one.
The last bit of this beef mince has gone on hamburgers - and I wasn't taking pictures of that one, lol. Next package (we can buy, like 10 lbs at a time, which is nice), it will definitely be time for meatballs as we're down to the last jar of meatballs and sauce.
At my elevation (5000 ft), canning any meat takes nearly 6 hours! (I'm loathe to get a pressure canner, because that has inherent risks - and this works!)

Well what ever works. I think mass production saves dishes but the job is always so huge that it takes a while to pull the strenght and effort to do it lol. My freezer is looking rather bare atm. So will need to do some more prep soon or ill have to start cooking nightly lol. Who wants to do that. Lol.

lol - yep.
I only use about 3-4 lbs of the meat at a time, so whenever I get a log of it, I try to do some for canning first. Then, some hamburgers and tacos after that. For canning, it's usually meatballs or chili. Four lbs of meat will make 4 quarts of meatballs - and the huge can of tomato sauce will handle that plus four pints of sauce to add to the spaghetti... so four meals all at once. :-)

So you can the meatballs to preserve them for later eatting.you dont freeze them?

Yep! At your elevation (assuming you're not more than 1000' in your area), it takes about three hours to can meat - though do look up all the old advice about it. They did it all the time in the 50s until the USDA started getting involved (and maybe a lobby group for one of the pressure canner companies... that's my theory anyway.)
For me, it's nearly double that, lol. But I haven't lost a jar of meat yet. (Touching wood, really quickly here!)
For me, it's really important because we live in a small flat without adequate freezer space.

That makes sense. Perth is super flat so no elevation here lol. My parents do live above 1000ft as they live in victoria in the snowy mountains. Not that they can anything. They live on a huge property and have heaps of freezer space so buy in bulk and freeze everything. They only shop once a month as they live so far from the main shopping areas its a beautiful place to live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53