Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Cruising Naked

Yes it exists!

Note there are no exposed area’s in this post.

While I’m in the mood for sharing all my secrets, why not throw in this one for good measure. @Shai-hulud and I are naturalists. What does that mean, basically if you were to knock on our door without a prior invitation you may be left standing for a moment while we clothe ourselves. It also led us on the adventure of a lifetime. To find out more keep reading!

The Big Nude Boat

Mind out of the gutter please…

First up let me make it very clear, my husband and I are not swingers. Secondly, you can choose to wear or not wear clothes, it’s a clothing optional cruise. Thirdly, towels are required at all times when naked and clothes are required in the dining rooms.

Although this is open to interpretation by the person wearing the clothes, so we did see a lot of fishnet and I’m not talking stockings.

Me and my ostomy!

Last but not least, if you ever want to gain some self-assurance get onto one of these cruises, any inhibitions you may have about your own physique will have disappeared by the end. I am however getting ahead of myself.

Having an ostomy ensures you are never strictly naked except possibly in the shower if you are willing to play chicken with the output. Add to this the numerous scars I have obtained, this is an activity that never entered my mind pre or post ostomy surgery.

Pre-ostomy I would have been too self-conscious about stretch marks and cellulite to consider it.

So, how did I go from crying in front to the mirror to getting my kit off on a boat with 2,500 other nude people or naturalists as we liked to called. Well, it’s easy – timing, a love for travel, and preparedness to step out of my comfort zone.

Back Story

I had previously gone on a cruise with my sister through the South Pacific and completely loved it. There was always things to do with 24 hours a day entertainment and food, not to mention housekeeping. Who wouldn’t love that… Since that cruise, I had been trying to convince my hubby @shai-hulud to join me on a cruise, he is not however very fond of large crowds or anywhere his computer isn’t. So surprise surprise…

Hubby found a cruise…

He told me he had been looking at cruises for our next holiday I was surprised to say the least. He had found a decent one too. Nine nights leaving from Tampa in Florida which also meant we could visit the US, something I had been agonizing to do since I missed my opportunity back in 2007 due to surgery.

You can find my full story here: How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL!

New York, Washington DC, Disneyworld and Universal studios were all on the list. My enthusiasm took over and I was sold. So when he told me the hook that it was a ”clothing optional” cruise, as in a nude cruise the pro’s still compensated for the cons and I booked it that night, before I had the chance to wuss out.

My husband doesn’t like wearing clothes, I just wanted to go on a cruise… Win win right…

It wasn’t until everything was booked and paid for that the enormity of what I had done hit me. I had just readily signed myself up to get naked in front of random people. The months leading up to the trip was full of unsettled feelings of you can do this to what were you thinking.

It’s one thing walking around your own house naked but this is crazy!.

It Begins

The time came and I packed my ostomy provisions, along with the stuff we needed to survive the adventures in the US prior to the cruise and very little else. The time spent travelling through parts of the US prior to the cruise was amazing, exhausting and chilly. Trying to pack so much into so little time gave me no opportunity to ponder the logistics of the cruise until we were in line with hundreds of other soon to be naked people. At that stage, they all looked as normal as us.

Big Nude Boat

We all wore expressions of excitement mixed with a tinge of fear and some like me doubt.

Registration was easy and went by in a flash. Clothing was required when in port so the first few hours went by like a normal cruise, checking out our stateroom, the eating areas and listening to safety demonstrations before disembarking.

Bits in, Boobs out

As we left port we hid in our stateroom for some time as we were a little anxious about opening the door and what we would be confronted with but @shai-hulud maned up and lead the way. Given it was clothing optional we decided to venture out clothed to see what we had signed up for.

The cruise director declared over the speaker clothes were no longer required, and the party can begin!

There were forty of us under forty out of the 2,500 cruise goers and this included the models and video crew so with or without my ostomy and my husband’s ringlets we were going to be easily recognisable.

Did you know he is cutting them all off for leukaemia? He is raising money from all his posts with (FCK Cancer) in the title until early MARCH, check him out @shai-hulud and upvote generously for a great cause. We are also sending his hair off to be made into a wig for a child suffering from hair loss associated with leukaemia. He has been growing it for over 5 years now. I can honestly tell you we are both a bit scared of what he's going to look like...
Interested in knowing how we met
It had to do with the curls again.
Love isn’t always shit free.

There were people in all stages of undress. After what felt like forever but was probably only 15 minutes of walking around the ship we retreated back to the cabin to give our eyes time to adjust and process everything we had seen.

We both let out a giggle we had been holding onto since seeing two gentlemen playing ping-pong on the entertainment deck.

Agreeing that we may not be as adult as we thought as we continued to giggle like children would over the word “fart”. Once we gathered our senses back about us and reassured each other that we looked as normal if not better than the masses we dared to leave the cabin again.

My husband in full ship attire and me while still terrified, went topless with my ostomy securely tucked into my shorts.

First exposure

I officially went fully nude three times on the cruise, the first of which was on the cruise liners privately owned island in the Caribbean. We had a seven hour stop and I deliberated with myself for the first four of them.

I got as naked as you can safely get with an ostomy and stepped out onto the beach.

Even after all my deliberations I started crying soon after disrobing, sure everyone was staring at me. My husband brought me back to the real world by first telling me how proud of me he was and then enlightening me that they were probably checking out my “hot body” if they were looking at all. That made me laugh, stop crying and gave me a second to feel proud of how far I had come since receiving my ostomy.

The pirate and the octopus

My favourite experience by far had to be the “Under the Sea” costume party. It was hilarious and the imagination of some people still amazes me, the body paint artists were amazing. The painted one gentleman as an octopus with one loose tentacle while another bloke as a pirate and you will never guess what his sword was. I laughed when one gentleman came adorned with nothing but flashing lights attached to his man region.

You get good at keeping eye contact on these things but add flashing anything and your eyes are drawn to it...

Although I enjoyed my time nude and I was never made to feel uncomfortable I still chose to wear bottoms most of the time. The most therapeutic thing I found was no need for underwear and no shame for it.

Assumptions shattered

Whilst I had the assumption that cruise boats are full of old people, I had honestly thought I may encounter another ostomate but I was the only one I saw. However, there were people of all shapes, sizes, nationalities, political and religious beliefs all with their own scars to bear and stories to tell.

There was no judgement as it really is hard to judge someone who is naked, especially if you are naked too.

In the clothed world we make assumptions about people due to what they wear, take that away it becomes much harder. Which means to get to know anyone you need to interact and talk with them. A lot like steemit. This is challenging at first and not only requires eye contact but is best approached from the same level, both standing or sitting, any combo is made somewhat more difficult due to the lack of clothing.

This aside, we did meet some amazing people and we would love to reconnect with them in the future. One of these lovely ladies is featured throughout this blog as I wasn't brave enough to let my hubby take photos.

Not your cup of tea

Now I do appreciate if this is not your cup of tea. I can understand especially those struggling with body issues. It's completely normal not to get buck naked on a ship full of strangers. It's taken me ten years, a desire to go on a cruise, a passion for travel and the willingness to compromise to get me there so by no means is it for everyone. However, you do need to know anything is possible and you can experience new things and live the life you always wanted no matter what crap you have endured in your past.

IMG_1957.jpg

Stronger than before!

Power Up & Steem On!

Want some inspiration or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

What is love?
Paradise or Death - Round TWO
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven from @catweasel & @enchantedspirit
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine
5 things I learned from posting daily in 5 minutes!

My hubby is also a great steemian worth a follow, check him out @shai-hulud. Below are some of his:

Alphabet Adventures Episode 7 .. "Absolve" (fck cancer)
The 7 Secret to Steemit fundraising plus bonus tip - Fck Cancer
FCK Cancer

Don't forget to follow us so you don't miss a thing!



Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.
Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!


asapers 1.png

One last thing! @asapers a new curation team has started a profit-sharing curation post promotion, follow @asapers to check it and more out!

The STEEM Engine

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, Images are given with permission, owned or from pixabay

Sort:  

My ex dragged me to a nude beach in Devon once. The hard part (if you'll excuse the phrase) was getting naked, and then standing up. Once I realised that I had neither the largest nor smallest willie and that boobs en masse are a lot less provocative than I'd expected I was fine.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Haha pun acceptable lol. My hubby had the same thought. The hardest part is undressing for sure. Its a weird thing to do take your underwear off in public. Now to avoid that issue if I'm going to a nude event I just wear none. Saves the awkwardness of removing them hahaha....

It was soon after that, although I don't think the beach incident was germane, that I stopped wearing underwear, going commando as it were. And if anyone can explain to Ricky Gervaise and me WHY it is known as going commando we would be grateful indeed.

(I'm sure none of you wanted to know that about me.)

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Haha sharing is caring! I'll have to do some research on the commando thing and let both you and Ricky know lol.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.39$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You always put so much effort into your posts =) ...

I think anyone would agree that you're one of the most courageous people out there.

There are quite a few nude beaches here in Brazil and I've always wanted to try the experience. My wife has shown an interest too so I reckon it's only a matter of time. I just hope we do it while we're still under 400 too ;P

Hey, Erin... I've had this "collaborative posting" idea in my mind since Dolphin School... Was wondering if you'd like to join: ... I would start a story, with only two or three paragraphs. You would then continue it in another post. A third person would continue where you left off (each time only 2 or 3 paragraphs) and then it circles back to me. (I'm thinking 3 or 4 people would be ideal).

It's something I do with my students and it's a lot of fun =) What do you think?

Thanks, I try to post good posts every time I post. It doesn’t always work. Have you followed @asapers yet? We are always looking for good posts to curate fro there 😊

As for collaboration it sounds like it could be fun. Have you asked anyone else? Have you tried @zappl? 240 characters only. Not sure if thats enough.

MY hubby and I would love to get to get to Brazil, the beaches sound fun. I hope you and your wife enjoy your time there when you get round to it. It’s nerve racking but liberating.

I just followed @asapers .. Not sure what happened, coulda sworn I'd already followed way back.

Ok! Awesome. I'm going to write the beginning post and as soon as we have a third (perhaps you know someone?), I'll post it and tag you both. And yes, 240 chars is definitely too short. As I say, 2 or 3 short paragraphs per post should be good.

If you do come to Brazil, let me know. Would love to show you around the city I live in =) (and you'd need someone who speaks the language, hehe).

Oh, forgot to say, you might enjoy my latest post, if you haven't seen it already... About sex, polygamy and open relationships =)

I’ll check that out tomorrow about to head to bed now. I have someone that may be interested that still interacts with me a lot post dolphin school.

Righto =) ... As long as they have a history of putting effort into their posts! =) Tis why I chose you, after all ;) Sleep well.

I should probably give you a heads up. I'm not all that good at stories lol.

Oh, that's okay =) ... Your writing skillz seem fine and the story itself is naturally going to be a bit disjointed, with three of us changing each other's plots all the time ;) ... Have you spoken to that someone?

Lol - Thanks for sharing your experience on the cruise! It definitely sounds interesting. Hilarious that there were only 40 of you under 40! I'm going to have to check out your hubby's blog! Thanks for putting this post together. Not something I have ever considered or even heard about. Ha.

Haha Thanks, yes it was not something I thought I would find myself being part of lol. My hubby would love a look in.

Very interesting! I have always wondered about these nude excursions, I have always thought it was technically, if not psychologically easier for women than men to do it.

This is due mainly to the bone zone, I mean most of us get a few a day, and it doesn't necessarily mean we're getting sexy thoughts. I could be wondering if I need milk later and boing, up he pops.

I just can't imagine the complex feelings I'd be experiencing as I get a stiffy talking to a 68 year old woman about the architecture in France or whatever, I'm fairly sure she'd get the wrong idea!

I had to look up ostomy by the way, good on you for shedding your fears, and good on your husband for supporting you :-)

Cg

Thank you, you just reminded me to link my ostomy blog to the word ostomy to help others avoid having to look for themselves.

As for the "Bone Zone" lol, this was of concern to @shai-hulud but he managed to keep it under control so long as I behaved lol... Not that I was looking but I didn't see any others with that issue but I can see how it would be especially in the beginning but I think after the first 48 hours of nothing but bits in your face it becomes less of an "arousal" thing and just normal. It's weird but true.

Thanks for taking the time to read it and even more so find out about what an ostomy is, I really appreciate that @cryptogee. :-)

Really interesting post! Thanks for sharing this experience. I totally see how being nude can be so empowering, equalizing, and humanizing! Kudos to you for being brave enough to hop out of your comfort zone and try it out. Great read.

Thanks for reading and staying a follower post #dolphinschool.

empowering, equalizing, and humanizing

That is the perfect way to think of it. :-)

Awesome blog and I'm glad you didn't let your ostomy prevent you from having this experience. It's funny how every time you choose to shed your clothing in public it's like some barrier you have to cross. But once you do it really is freeing. For everything we put on nudity in modern society it's astounding how non-sexual casual nudity can be and how equalizing it is.

For everything we put on nudity in modern society it's astounding how non-sexual casual nudity can be and how equalizing it is.

I was very surprised about how that was the case too. The barrier is had to cross but we'll worth the outcome.

Awesome story! Keep staying strong. I don't think I could do that myself.

It was a challenge yes lol, and not for everyone. :)

Wow, this is a amazing, interesting and dangerous (for my self-steem lol) adventure! I don't know if i'm confident enough to run around naked in a cruise full of other naked people!

In all honesty, I am not that confident either but I do have a why not attitude and I am happy to give most things a try once. lol.

Interesting! Never heard of a nude cruise! Lol

Neither had i until my hubby found it lol. There is a company called bare necessities that does different nude cruises around the world.

Wow!! That was some adventure, and I'm sure quite liberating!

Registration was easy and went by in a flash.

Nice word use😉!!

haha, I love a good pun or two but that one was by complete accident! I will take it though lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64016.64
ETH 3498.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55