Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

in #steemit6 years ago

Congratulations and welcome to Steemit.


Honestly, that is a sincere congratulations and welcoming, you have joined an exciting and interesting community. On top of that, you have joined a community that promises the opportunity to be rewarded for the content you create.

By joining this platform you have taken the first steps away from producing free content for the consumption and profit of the tube, insta, faceblag, ribbit etc.

You're going to have an interesting ride, some days this place will feel like a Utopian dream filled with altruistic, giving people with Steem dollars paving the streets, other days it's going to look like a model of perfect capitalism.

Day One: The Learning Curve.

I should be telling you steemit is easy, I should be telling you that you're going to get whales upvotes on your first day, it would keep you excited about the Steem based platforms but that would be doing you and the Steem based communities a great disservice.

The truth is that you're about to face a pretty steep learning curve, your first days, even weeks will be filled with questions like what the hell is VP?, how do I get SP? , why does everyone keep talking about markdown? , wait why is my markdown broken? curration? power up? 50/50?, internal market?

For the record learning about those things, taking time to learn how to produce quality content, is how you add value to the system and how you gain rewards.

My Goal.


Over the next few weeks, it is my goal to write as complete a series as I can, covering as many important Steem related topics as I can and eventually compile them into one complete Knowledge bank that I can link new Steemians through to in order to ease the curve.

To help those new to the community because the learning curve of proof of brain should be as steep as is needed but not steeper.


Todays Lesson. F.A.Q or (The post you deserve, not the post you want)

You're excited, ready to go, chomping at the bit to start posting and make it rain those Steem Dollars after all your going to be the next whale.

Anti-climactic right linking to the F.A.Q post provided by Steemit when what you really want is info on "How to make a profitable post and gain followers".

It seems so ridiculously obvious that this page might be a really Good place to start, so why would I post such a thing?

Because I didn't read it!

Honestly, just like you, I was excited, I was here and had no idea what I wanted to write, what I wanted to contribute, or even what I wanted to get out of this community other than free crypto but I figured bugger it I'll work it out. Now I don't expect you to go and read the whole dam F.A.Q after all just scrolling to the bottom of that thing is a mission.

What I do suggests is that you get in there and have a look at the kinds of information that it has for you, what I suggest is that at least at the beginning don't forget that it is there as a resource.


F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q - F.A.Q

Take the hint

Lessons coming up



Security : Why lock an empty house?








Who are you and what are you about?







So many choices ; So Many Platforms







Don't forget to follow @shai-hulud for more lessons in how to steemit.

My Wife is also a great Steemian worth a follow, check her out @insideoutlet. Below are some of her:

Fruit Picking Fun - (FCK Cancer) YOUR upvote costs nothing, HELPS many!
Come hike with me! Photo journey - Ellis Brook Reserve (Summer Edition)

Kind Regards

Peter


asapers 1.png

One last thing! @asapers a new curation team has started a profit-sharing curation post promotion, follow @asapers to check it and more out!

The STEEM Engine

Upvote follow resteem.png

Sort:  

I spent almost two weeks here day and night just for orientation and familiarisation.... now am still learning... the learning curve is quite steep and deep.

good iniciative to help out the minnows :D steemit is a great place to be but is also one where you have to learn a lot.

I think it's a good thing you mention the FAQ age. I discovered it myself when I was on SteemIt for 3 months already. So now it's the first advice I give to newcomers: go read the FA page :0)

LOL ... I haven't read the FAQ yet! ;P Still not sure if I'm going to, hehehe... Oh gods, okay fine. Not sure why I even upvoted you ;P

Seriously, great post, and even greater idea for a series. There are many of the same type of posts but I think your humour and candidness will ultimately win you fans =)

That’s a good reality check for all those tadpoles out there. I like the proof of brain concept. That’s a great way to describe Steemit. You can’t mine for crypto without a 1 gb GPU and you can’t mine for SBD with Twitter sized posts. Looking forward to more.

This is going to be a fantastic series for new and old!! ;)

Great post for getting started and setting realistic expectations on Steemit. And, yes, checking out the FAQ... Priceless! Looking forward to your future posts to, especially the Security one. Clever titles that draw in the reader.

Ha. Seems so obvious to read the FAQ but so many people do not. Lol

First: I love the Dune series!

Second, yes, I'm still very new here, but I feel like I've climbed pretty high on that mountain. There's a lot to learn and digest, but that's what makes the experience so fun.

Funny enough, I don't think I ever looked at the FAQ either. So I'm going to do that right now!

This is a fantastic initiative. I'm working on something similar, myself.

When I have time to browse through introductory posts, I always tell new Steemians to go read the FAQ. It's a very helpful link, so I appreciate your advice to go read it!

Best wishes with this series. I'll be following along and taking pointers from you on how to best ease someone into the Steemit ecosystem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66