Black Oak Sword, Chapter 29

in #fiction7 years ago

BlackOak2.2.jpg

After they were seated comfortably, just Wilson, Aella, the Princess and of course Nan, Wilson cleared his throat and began. "When I was young, my father lived with us and worked the fields around our house. He was proud of his small farm but rarely spoke of where he came up with the coin to purchase it. Once, when I pressed him, he said he had done work for the Kingdom. When I asked him what, he ignored me completely." Wilson moved himself on his chair to get more comfortable. He took a small sip of his drink and continued, "Then, when I was ten, a messenger arrived from your Father, the King. I know because of his colors. Father read the note. That night, he and mother held a heated conversation. I couldn't hear what was said, although I tried. In the morning, Father was gone. He never returned."

"Where did he go?" asked the Princess.

"I know my mother knew, but she never once told either my sister or me. After two years, whispers began around the village that my father was a traitor to the crown. My sister never believed the rumors, but after a time, I came to believe what the bullies around town said. I tried asking my mother, but she would never answer. Then, just as things became nearly unbearable for me, I suddenly found myself enrolled at the Roc Academy. I never returned home, until just a few days ago. I received word that my mother had died. My commander sent me home for the funeral."

The Princess put her hand on Wilson's arm. "I'm sorry for your loss. My mother passed as well."

"Thank you," said Wilson. Then he continued to relate the events of the past two days. "And so, you see, if I am going to help my sister, I need to convince the King to declare my father not a traitor to the crown. If he will, then I think my sister won't lose the farm."

"I have heard of your father," said the Princess. "I'm not sure my father will pardon him."

Wilson's shoulders slumped.

"But, I shall certainly send him a missive that you can carry with you. Although I'm not certain it will help, it most definitely will not hurt."

"Thank you."

"While you are at the castle, would you mind doing me a favor?" asked the Princess.

"It would be my pleasure."

"Will you deliver a separate message from me to my tutor?"

"I will."

"Thank you."

With that, the conversation drifted to other subjects and several enjoyable hours were spent discussing events of the world. As the evening grew late, a commotion arose from the far side of camp. Wilson and Aella looked at each other. The riders from the Baron were certain to have caught up to them. They would gain no sympathy once the story was told that he was an escaped convict. As the Princess arose, they both stood up as well.

"Princess, it has been a pleasure," said Wilson. "Would it be terribly impolite of us to excuse ourselves. We must get to sleep if we are to travel in the morning."

"I shall see you before you depart in the morning then, Sir Wilson?" asked the Princess.

"We shall see you in the morning," said Aella quickly and then she and Wilson walked over to the horse line under the pretext of checking on their horses before retiring. They quickly undid their horses and pulled them quietly into the underbrush.

They fled from the camp and all hope Wilson had of getting help from the Princess.

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 2: Part 1 , Part 2
Chapter 3: Part 1 , Part 2,Part 3
Chapter 4:Part 1,Part 2
Chapter 5: Part 1
Chapter 6: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 7: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14:Part 1
Chapter 14:Part 2
Chapter 15:Part 1
Chapter 15:Part 2
Chapter 16:Part 1
Chapter 16:Part 2
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19:Part 1
Chapter 19:Part 2
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22:Part 1
Chapter 22:Part 2
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
Chapter 25
Chapter 26
Chapter 27
Chapter 28

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

Hello, my dear friend!
Wilson and Aella are gradually becoming my favorite heroes!

Thank you for the fascinating story and the post, @bigpanda.

A good story and very interesting @bigpanda

I always appreciate you stopping by my friend @rizasukma. I'm glad you find it interesting.

Thank you very much my friend. I always try to be present. I'm happy to be friends with you @bigpanda :-)

Nice writing, well presented.

Your welcome @bigpanda still reading

Wanted to let you know I am working on trading card now...Sorry for long delay!

This post has received a 6.50 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bigpanda. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 8.33 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @steem-buzz.

This post has received a 33.28 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @bigpanda

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.95
ETH 2351.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47