Black Oak Sword, Chapter 24

in #fiction7 years ago

BlackOakagro1.jpg

The Grand Duke rode his stallion with an expertise born of many years practice. He looked around to find the 1st Lieutenant. Seeing him near the Princess's carriage, he beckoned the Lieutenant to come ride with him.

As the Lieutenant rode up, he hailed the Grand Duke, "Sir?"

"Thank you very much for coming over. I need to speak with you a moment, and I think it best that other's do not overhear our conversation," the Grand Duke smiled pleasantly at the young officer.

"Sir?"

"No need for formalities, young Lieutenant. I just wanted to mention that it seems you are doing a most professional job with this caravan."

"Thank you sir," the Lieutenant said.

"I was wondering, if I could ask you a small favor?" the Grand Duke said as he stared closely at the young man. This was the critical part of the plan. A small mistake here and things could go sideways in a hurry.

"Why, certainly sir," said the Lieutenant.

The Grand Duke nodded. "In that case, please accompany me to the front of the caravan. Let's get a short distance ahead of the rest of the group so we can talk in private."

"Well, sir, it is about lunchtime. How about I call a halt and while my men are preparing the repast, we can ride ahead and talk."

"That would be perfect," said Grand Duke Agro as he beamed at the young man.

Lieutenant Badren called a halt to the caravan and assigned his next in line command of the group. He then rode ahead with the Grand Duke.

When they were enough ahead of the group that no one would be able to hear their conversation, the Grand Duke stopped his horse and dismounted.

Lieutenant Badren joined him.

As they stood there, the Grand Duke stared at him as if he were trying to read his soul. Lieutenant Badren looked down uncomfortably.

"Is there something you would like to tell me?" asked the Grand Duke.

The young man nodded his head. "No sir." He had a quizzical look on his face.

"Nothing about any young lasses?"

The young man blushed, but to his credit, he stood firm. "Sir, what is this about?"

Grand Duke Agro was impressed. "It has come to my attention that you are sweet on a young lass by the name of Betsy."
The Duke slowly removed his gloves and placed them in his belt. "How would you like things to work out with this young lady?"

"Sir, I have nothing but honorable intentions."

"I know this Lieutenant. Neither do I." Agro placed his hand on the Lieutenant's shoulder. He wanted this next part to go very smooth.

"What are you asking, sir?"

"I just wanted you to know that I have many connections in the Court. If it is your desire to court the young lady Betsy, I can help arrange it," Agro said.

The soldier's face lit up. He struggled to keep a smile from creasing his face. "You can?" he asked. Then he quickly cleared his throat. "I mean, you can do that sir?"

Agro laughed. "Yes I can."

"Why?"

Agro laughed again. "I was once young and in love. I know how difficult it is to arrange matters. And you seem a good sort. I like to see good men succeed."

"Thank you. Thank you very much."

Agro nodded at the gratitude. It was his due and he accepted it as such. "There is one thing, Lieutenant Badren."

"What is it?" he asked.

"I need you to help me betray the Princess," the Grand Duke said as he stepped up to the young man and placed his dagger at his throat. "I am riding ahead so I can get to my Duchy and prepare for the Royal Princess's arrival. Tomorrow, I need you and your men to stand down while my men slay the Royal Brat."

The Lieutenant's right eye quivered. "Sir, I can't do that."

"Even if it means that I order my men to hunt Betsy down and sell her to the slavers?"

The Lieutenant gasped. "You wouldn't do such a thing."

Agro smiled. And slowly pressed the dagger into the man's check. "I most certainly would. And I will unless you agree to help me."

The man nodded.

"Good man, then. And if you do this properly, I shall ensure that your future is bright and filled with this young Betsy."

"What must I do?" the Lieutenant asked.

"That is the beauty of the situation. You must do nothing at all. Just make sure that right after the lunch tomorrow, you and your next in command are somewhere away from the camp. Go and look for the scouts, go and talk about your plans, go for a walk. It doesn't matter what you do, just make sure there is no one who will stand and organize your men when you are attacked by my assassins."

The Lieutenant nodded. "And if I do this?"

Agro smiled at the petty greed. This was his kind of man. "I shall ensure you and Betsy have a nice house in the Duchy of Rockport. And you shall have a position in my Duchy garrison."

They two men shook hands. Both traitors rode back to the camp where Grand Duke Agro took his leave of the party to ride ahead and make sure all was ready for the Royal visit.

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 2: Part 1 , Part 2
Chapter 3: Part 1 , Part 2,Part 3
Chapter 4:Part 1,Part 2
Chapter 5: Part 1
Chapter 6: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 7: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14:Part 1
Chapter 14:Part 2
Chapter 15:Part 1
Chapter 15:Part 2
Chapter 16:Part 1
Chapter 16:Part 2
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19:Part 1
Chapter 19:Part 2
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22:Part 1
Chapter 22:Part 2
Chapter 23

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

Absolutely loving the story @bigpanda--keep it coming. Can't wait to see what happens next.

Glad you are enjoying it. Good things are coming--or maybe bad things? Guess we will find out.

as far as today, this is the best post in today's steemit, thanks for sharing

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.22 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks to post

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 3.92 % upvote from @bellyrub.

This post has received a 8.60 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bigpanda.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73