Black Oak Sword, Chapter 18

in #fiction7 years ago

BlackOakDoctorWife.jpg

The Grand Duke was ready. If he left before the ninth hour and traveled hard, he would be in Rockport before dinner. He looked forward to being home. "One last meeting, and then I shall leave," he said to himself. With that, he summoned Court Physiker Dill.

The Physiker arrived and bowed deeply to the Grand Duke. "My liege," he said simply.

It was one of the things Agro loved about the man. He knew his place in the world. And he was willing to do whatever it took to make his place just a little better.

"The King's drink, you have still been administering it as I directed," said the Grand Duke.

"Certainly," said the Physiker. He was an oily man. As he spoke, he gently pulled the right side of his oily mustache. It bothered Agro to no end. Quite a disgusting habit.

"I need you to triple the amount," said Agro.

The Physiker's mouth fell open just a bit.

"Starting this evening," added Agro.

"But," started the Physiker, clearly seeking a way to voice his concern without pinching the udders that gave him milk.

Feeling very impatient, the Grand Duke decided he had no time to waste waiting for this fool to spit out his concerns. "Well, man, out with it."

"It is just, well you see," mumbled the Physiker. And then suddenly, as if the courage had burst through his reticence, he blurted, "It shall kill him within days."

"Ah, yes," said Agro. "And what did you think the plan was?" he asked.

"Well, they are certain to investigate once the King dies. And I shall be implicated. If we continue to administer the poison slowly, it will never show up if another physiker investigates. In the amounts you are suggesting, even a novice physik could tell what killed him," he said hurriedly, as if he needed to say everything in one breath.

"And?" asked Agro in a quiet, bland voice.

"Well," started the Physiker. "Well, I shall be implicated and killed for certain. And my liege, everyone knows I owe my job to you. I wouldn't want you tied into the investigation."

"Ah, your concern for me is what gives you pause?" asked Agro.

"Yes, that is it exactly," said Dill beaming with pleasure that he had finally happened upon an excuse.

Agro stood up. He walked around his desk and stooped down so that he was staring Dill in the face. Their noses were nearly touching. "Do not give it another thought," he said. "After the King dies, I shall step into the void. I will make sure you are freed on some technicality or another. And then, you shall have your reward."

"Ah," said the physiker, "what about the Princess. Wouldn't she take the throne?"

"As I said, don't you worry about the details. I shall make sure you get free and receive your reward," purred Agro. "Don't you trust me?" he asked in a quiet voice.

"No, I mean yes, of course I trust you."

"Then, do as I say," commanded Agro. "If you fail, my guards shall be required to visit your wife and children. I can't say that it will be a pleasant visit. Succeed, and you shall have my gratitude." Agro reached out and put his hand on Dill's shoulder. "The gratitude of a King goes a long way."

"Yes, my liege. I'm quite certain it does," said Dill with a sigh. His shoulder slumped as he thought of his wife and children. "I shall triple the dose, starting tonight."

"Good man," said Agro. "Now, I shall be leaving to Rockport today. If you need to get me a message, be certain to send it with one of my fastest men." Agro stood up and grabbed his small valise. As he walked out of the room, he looked back at the Physiker. "Dill?" he said.

Dill turned to look at him.

"Remember your wife. She is such a pretty thing. I can't imagine what those rough guards would do if they had to visit her."

Dill nodded, his shoulders still slumped. "I shall remember," he said.

PandaStripe.jpg

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 2: Part 1 , Part 2
Chapter 3: Part 1 , Part 2,Part 3
Chapter 4:Part 1,Part 2
Chapter 5: Part 1
Chapter 6: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 7: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14:Part 1
Chapter 14:Part 2
Chapter 15:Part 1
Chapter 15:Part 2
Chapter 16:Part 1
Chapter 16:Part 2
Chapter 17

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  
Loading...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Very good post story my friend. Thank for sharing @bigpanda

nice post.followed and upvote u hope u will do the same

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @bigpanda
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 11.41 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bigpanda. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

this is a good chapter..i read it carefully and it's helpful..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01