Black Oak Sword, Chapter 4 -- Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

BlackOak4.0.jpg

Wilson cleared his throat. "Um..."

"Speak your mind."

"They have been beating us so soundly, their gear wagons haven't been able to keep pace with the speed of their advance."

The General nodded. "I am in agreement with your assessment." He smiled a thin, fierce smile. "Do you know why they are moving us back so quickly?"

"No, sir."

"Because I don't have any eyes in the sky. That is why." The General stood up as he said this. "Do you happen to know when I may?"

"No, sir."

The General shook his head with frustration.

"Why is it when I only asked for Wilson, you decided to come too?" he asked Aella sharply.

"Sir," she said, "Where he goes, I go. As a bonded pair, we have an obligation to protect each other from every threat." She raised her eyebrows at the General and continued, "Whatever that may be."

"Well," he said, "In this case, I am no threat." He pulled a small sheet of paper from the far corner of his desk. "Unfortunately, I have some bad news." He looked over at Wilson.

Wilson shifted uneasily. In his experience, the military had a nasty habit of understating things. Bad news could only mean something really bad. A heavy weight settled deep in his stomach. "What is it sir?" he asked.

The General cleared his throat. "I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news. It seems your mother has passed. You are requested at home for her service. It is to be in two days."

Wilson didn't move a muscle. Memories flooded through his mind. It had been three years since he had seen her last. It couldn't be, he thought. "Sir?" his voice cracked.

"I'm sorry. I really am. I want you to head out to her funeral. You are from the district of Xol, out in the Barony of Firsall. Is that correct?"

"Yes sir," Wilson answered. Stable ground there--easy questions that were simple yes or no answers.

"I want you to head out immediately. You can reach it in less than a day and a half. After the ceremony, I need you back right away. I'm giving you five days leave. Today is One, report back to me on Six. I have a pressing assignment I need your unit to handle. I am hoping by then I will have a proper flight of Rocs here from the Riders so I can win this war."

"I hope so as well, General," said Wilson.

The commander stood. "Good luck soldier. Return quickly. And may the Five ride with you."

"Sir," Wilson saluted. Aella followed suit.

As they exited the tent, Aella said, "I'm going with you."

Wilson shrugged. "Fine. Let's go get our horses and get on the road."

Aella looked over at him. "Wilson," she said. After a slight pause, "I'm sorry."

"So am I," he answered. "So am I."

pandaStripe.jpg

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1

Chapter 1: Part 2

Chapter 1: Part 3

Chapter 2: Part 1

Chapter 2: Part 2

Chapter 3:Part 1

Chapter 3:Part 2

Chapter 4:Part 1

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Max Pixel

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

Again, you are one prolific writer! I began this story and then fell behind... I'm now out of sync a bit, but trying to catch up with you! Good writing, as usual, but I'll have to give my thoughts on the story when things slow down a bit. (smile)

Hmm I think making it in short posts makes it better :)

Plus it gives me time to edit the first draft before I post it everyday. Glad you think it is ok like this @aftabkhan10

Hmm yeah dude, long posts sometimes makes others bored a bit :P

I like the longer posts, then I have to wait less for more updates :)

voted due to @bellyrub missed your vote.

Thanks for such great service @zeartul! I love @bellyrub.

Very good my friend @bigpanda

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @bigpanda! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Nice action bro. @bigpanda

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 0.22 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85