Black Oak Sword, Chapter Six -- Part TwosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

tavern.jpg

"How's she doing?" Wilson asked.

"Grace is doing better. Pretty shaken up," Dev took a sip of the mead. "We all are, Wil. For a while, the Baron's men were all over the place saying it was the Swelling Fever. No one believed them, but we were all a bit scared. Your sister was quarantined for the seven days. Ended yesterday." Devon took another drink. "Wil, I'm so sorry."

"Not your fault," Wilson said.

"I sent word to you the day it happened. Must be a good commander to get you here so fast," said Devon.

Aella looked up from her plate. "Good? That may be in question. But he owes Wilson a debt." He probably figured this would ease a bit of what he owes, letting Wilson come here."

Devon reached over and grabbed all three mugs. "I'll go get us a refill. Be right back."

True to his word, he came back momentarily with full mugs.

"I think Wilson understated how good these chops are. Best chops I've ever had," said Aella. "Thank you."

Devon nodded. "You get enough?" he asked.

Aella smiled. "For now," she looked at Devon with a smile.

Devon looked back over at Wilson. "Well, you headed out to the farm?" he asked.

"In the morning," answered Wilson. "Is it all right if we stay here tonight?"

"Certainly," said Devon. "Dad will be glad to see you. He's over at the cooper ordering some new barrels right now. Should be back in an hour or so."

Wilson sat back and stretched his arms above his head. "Anything else I need to know before I head out tomorrow?" he asked.

"She'll be glad to see you," said Devon. "I think the Baron made all that up about the Swelling Fever. He's been looking for a way to get the farm since you left. I think he was going to use the Swelling Fever as an excuse to take the farm." Devon smashed his fist down on the table. "And that might not be the worst of it. That miserable horse's ass Basden has been after your sister since you left. Your mother would have nothing of it." He shook his head sadly. "Now that she's gone, I'm worried. It'll be another year until we can wed," he stopped speaking suddenly. His face turned bright red. "Wil, sorry. I meant to ask you. I just forgot. If it's okay with you, I'd like to marry your sister when she turns eighteen."

Wilson stood up, pushing his chair back noisily. His face was expressionless. Aella looked at him with concern. Then a huge smile broke across his face. "Of course, Dev. There is nothing I'd like better. I'm so happy for you two," he said. Then he reached over and lifted the skinny Devon right out of his chair and gave him a bear hug that would have put a grizzly to shame.

"Your mother, she knew. I think she always knew," said Devon. "I can't believe she's gone."

"I can't either," said Wilson. "What's all this about Basden, anyway?" he asked.

Devon threw his mug into the fireplace with a crash. The pottery shattered. Aella looked up with a start. "That Basden is up to no good. And his dad, the Baron, just wants the land. I have no way to fight back. If I cause too much of a problem, the Baron will just tax my Dad right out of his business. He's already pushed three of the town council out of business for disagreeing with him. It's like there is no law anymore, Wil." Devon shook his head. "Like there is no law at all."

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1

Chapter 1: Part 2

Chapter 1: Part 3

Chapter 2: Part 1

Chapter 2: Part 2

Chapter 3:Part 1

Chapter 3:Part 2

Chapter 3:Part 3

Chapter 4:Part 1

Chapter 4:Part 2

Chapter 5

Chapter 6:Part 1

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Max Pixel

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 6.25 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bigpanda. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

The storyline that attracted my friend. Good post @bigpanda

Thanks @rizasukma. I always appreciate your support my friend.

You are welcome my friend 😊

I'm enjoying this story very much. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Thanks @bigpanda for rewarding me as a winner :P

:) Thanks for the update. Will read it later

This post received a 3.64% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @bigpanda! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This the good post on steemit. follow me and i will follow you

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65