Black Oak Sword, Chapter 20

in #fiction7 years ago

BlackOakagro1.jpg

The Grand Duke walked into the office of Captain Bellis of the King's Own. "Did my man report to you?

Captain Bellis stood up. "Yes sir, he did sir."

The Grand Duke sat down in the chair across the desk from the Captain. "And?"

The Captain did not sit down. That he didn't approve of Agro was obvious and it was not possible that Agro could care any less. In fact, the Captain's disapproval played right into his plans. Agro waited patiently.

The Captain picked up a stack of papers that sat on his desk. "Sir, I have more work than I can possibly accomplish in the given time. Did you have a reason for being here?"

Agro smiled. "Captain, I merely am dropping by to see if my man meets your high standards of approval?"

The Captain smiled. A thin smile that didn't curl at either end of his mouth. "It hardly matters, does it? The king, for reasons of his own, has seen fit to demand that I allow your man Tishtan accompany me and my guard on this journey to your Duchy. I cannot presume to know why he has commanded us thus. It is merely my responsibility to obey."

Agro began, "Ah..."

At which point the Captain slashed with his hand across the empty air. "Grand Duke, I wasn't done speaking."

Agro smiled. His smile curled at both ends. "I apologize, Captain. Please continue."

The captain harrumphed with a loud clearing of his throat. "I am guessing that you had something to do with this assignment we have received concerning your Tishtan." At this he leaned across the desk and stared closely at the Duke. The Duke felt uncommonly uncomfortable. "I will fulfill my assignment as concerns your man. But I shall be watching him closely. One step out of line, and I will throw him out of our company regardless of the consequences."

"I would expect nothing less," said Agro.

The Captain stood up ramrod straight. "You will expect nothing more."

Agro laughed out loud at this. "I did have one other reason for stopping by your office."

"And what is that?"

"It seems that our honored King has requested that instead of accompanying the Princess on her journey to my castle, he instead is requesting you stay by his side and send an underling in your place."

"This is highly irregular."

"What is?" asked Agro, managing to look puzzled.

"That a civilian such as yourself is in my office presuming to give me commands from the King. That is simply not how we conduct business in the King's Own."

"And how do you conduct business?"

"We do what the King commands me to either when he meets with me or when he sends us signed and sealed instructions. Without this, we do nothing aside from focusing on our main duty of protecting the King's life and that of his family."

"Ah, that is perfect then," said Agro.

"And how would this fit into your twisty plans?" asked Captain Bellis.

And this was the moment that Agro had been waiting for. "I have here in my breast pocket a certain missive from said Royal."
At that, Agro pulled the sealed letter out of his pocket and handed it to Captain Bellis.

The Captain carefully inspected the seal. Then, after several moments inspecting the seal, broke it and began to read the contest. The seal had passed inspection then. Agro made a quick mental note to give a generous tip to the forger he had paid this very morning for said written note with Royal seal. At this he smiled again. A generous tip and a quick journey to the afterworld to ensure his permanent silence.

"What are you smiling about?" asked the Captain. "Your face has the malice I would expect to see on my cat's face when he corners a mouse."

"Ah, Captain, excuse my secretive smile," Agro waved his right hand in a vague circular motion. "I was just remembering the warm kiss I received from a certain maid last night."

The Captain gestured towards the instructions from the King. "To wit, I shall not be accompanying the Princess on her trip to your castle. If you would be so kind as to allow my second in command entrance and lodging when he arrives I would much appreciate it," said the Captain. His face looked as if he had just swallowed a pair of lemons.

"Certainly Captain. We always love to see members of the King's Own. We shall treat them just as we would treat you," Agro said as he stood and walked from the room.

"That is what I am afraid of," said Captain Bellis as he stood holding the unwanted command in his left hand. His heart hammered in his chest. He had failed his assignment from the Throne Men before it had even begun.

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 2: Part 1 , Part 2
Chapter 3: Part 1 , Part 2,Part 3
Chapter 4:Part 1,Part 2
Chapter 5: Part 1
Chapter 6: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 7: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14:Part 1
Chapter 14:Part 2
Chapter 15:Part 1
Chapter 15:Part 2
Chapter 16:Part 1
Chapter 16:Part 2
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19:Part 1
Chapter 19:Part 2

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

I am enjoying the continuation

Loading...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

nice post

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Follow me for more upvoted & Upvote My Comments & upvote my post

Gotta love stories.

Thanks For Share Chapter 20.Its Really Intersting i followed You for your all post see you later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82