Black Oak Sword, Chapter 13steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

BlackOakPrincess1.jpg

The Princess walked into the South Dining Room through the enormous East Entrance. The old oak doors depicted various scenes from the birth of the Kingdom, Varen was depicted there entering the forest and speaking with the black bear at his cottage. She had always loved looking at these doors as a child. Now as she glanced at them, she withheld a slight shiver. They were all true. This she had never supposed.

"Variana," said the King as he struggled to rise from where he was seated.

Variana spoke quickly, "Father, don't rise. It is just me."

The King smiled. He stood up and brushed the crumbs from his doublet. "Oh, my dear Variana, there is no one else I would rather stand for," he said. And then, his face fell a little.

Variana knew as he said it that he was reminded of her mother. She felt a slight pang of sadness as well. Looking past the King, she noticed the Grand Duke. Immediately, so as to distract her father, she curtsied and said, "Father, you should have told me we have company." Looking directly at the Grand Duke, who rose from her chair as he was addressed, she curtsied and simply said, "Grand Duke."

The Grand Duke bowed low where he stood. "Princess Variana, it is always a pleasure to see you."

The King waved off all the pleasantries. "Come now, we are old friends, and family. No need to stand on formalities here." He waved to Variana and helped her sit on his right hand. Then he sat down heavily in his chair. After he was seated, the Grand Duke also sat down.

The King smiled broadly. "Dear, Agro and I were just discussing your upcoming trip to Rockport. He tells me that he has arranged everything with the Northern King. Prince Alexander will be in Rockport in three days’ time."

Not particularly feeling like talking about this again, Princess Variana sighed. "That is wonderful, Father."

The King nodded. "Agro will be leaving tomorrow to ensure his castle is ready to receive both you and the Prince. I'm sorry I won't be there."

"So am I," said the Grand Duke. "It is so lovely this time of year. Are you sure you can't come?" he asked somewhat overly hopeful thought Variana.

"No, I can't Agro. My health just isn't what it used to be," said the King. Looking over at the door to the kitchen, he clapped his hands together loudly. "Cook," he shouted, "We are hungry. Bring us meat and bread."

Princess Variana looked down at her plate. She loved her father, but was always somewhat uncomfortable around both him and food. Sneaking a glance over at the Grand Duke, she noticed he had a look of disdain as he eyed the King. It made her feel angry. "Agro," she said addressing him informally as was her right but not one she normally took advantage of, doing it because she knew he hated being addressed as such, "Do you think your wife will be there in Rockport?"

The Grand Duke scowled. His wife's proclivities for cuckolding him was point of deep shame to him. "I'm quite sure she won't," he answered. He took a small sip of the goblet in front of him. "She most likely is visiting some cousin in the South."

The King smiled again. Winking at Variana, he reached over and patted the Grand Duke's shoulder. "She has so very many cousins, Agro, doesn't she?" he asked.

Agro scowled. This was a topic he had no taste for pursuing. "Princess," he began, trying to change the subject to a more palatable topic, "will you be leaving tomorrow morning?"

"I think that is too sudden," said the Princess. "I think I shall leave the next day." She took a small bite of her asparagus.

The King nodded. "I think that is perfect. One extra day I get to spend with my Princess." He waved to a couple of the courtiers that were standing by the walls. One of them approached. "Inform the castle that the Princess leaves the day after tomorrow."
Grand Duke smiled in anticipation. He loathed the King and by extension everyone related to him. It will be good to be the King, he thought.

"Father," said the Princess Variana.

"MMMM," he mumbled through the mouthful of lamprey he had just stuffed into his mouth.

"I shall take the Captain of the King's Own Guard as my personal bodyguard," she said. "As long as that is ok with you."

The King nodded. "I think it a splendid idea," he said as he swallowed his overlarge mouthful.

"Doesn't that leave you rather unprotected, sire?" asked Agro.

"Better me than my daughter," said the King. "Besides, I shall have the remaining members of My Own Guard here and I shall be fine," with that statement he began to cough. The coughing reached a crescendo as his faced turned bright red.

Princess Variana stood up to go and help him. The King waved her away. "I'm fine daughter. Just fine."

"I don't think you are," she said as she looked over at the Grand Duke. She didn't want to say too much in front of him.

Her father noticed her glanced and said, "It's fine, Variana. Agro knows about the sickness. You aren't spilling any secrets talking about it here."

"I just am worried for you," said Variana.

The King took a large breath. Then he let it out with a noisy wheeze. "There, that one was a bit worse," he glanced at Variana as he said this. "I'll be fine. It is just some seasonal malady."

"Father, I want you to promise to take care of yourself," said Princess Variana.

"I have already promised. But, I promise again. I shall take care of myself," said the King. "You'll see," he said cheerfully, "by the time you return from your trip to Rockport, I shall be completely recovered."

The Princess looked at her father carefully. She nodded once and then stood. "If you will excuse me, Father, Grand Duke, I shall retire early tonight. I have a long day of preparation ahead of me tomorrow." She walked over to her father and kissed him on the cheek. "By your leave?"

"By my leave, dearest."

PandaStripe.jpg

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 2: Part 1 , Part 2
Chapter 3: Part 1 , Part 2,Part 3
Chapter 4:Part 1,Part 2
Chapter 5: Part 1
Chapter 6: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 7: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

I'm amazed that you can post such delightfully detailed new chapters every day. That must take a great amount of time and effort.

Thanks @gregory-f. I love doing it because it keeps me focused on my writing. Glad you are enjoying the story.

Very appealing and informative post shared followed . @bigpanda Wish you the best with all your future endeavors.

good story friend, I wish you always success ....

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is actually some astounding work! Followed

Loading...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

the expected story connection. extraordinary @bigpanda🐼

kisses a child for his father. this is very touching.
I wait for the connection. 👰 @bigpanda.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54