Black Oak Sword, Chapter 15 -- Part 2

in #fiction7 years ago

BlackOakhelmet.jpg

Grace looked at him with surprise. "Owes you a favor?" she said. "You say that as if it is the blacksmith down the street who owes you a favor for helping him unload pig iron or something?"

Wilson laughed. "It isn't quite like that. In fact, the King might not even have heard of me," he said.

"Then how can he owe you a favor?" asked Grace.

"Well, it's a long story. I need to get back and ask Aella if she can go with me. I'll cut the story really short. When I was at the Academy, before the war with the North started, a few people betrayed the King. The king of the North knew that the only way to defeat the kingdom rapidly would be to destroy the Corps. The best way to do that would have been to destroy the Roc Riders. The plot failed because I stopped them before they were able to execute their plan."

"But if the King doesn't know who you are?" interrupted Grace.

"Oh, as to that, I am quite close with the Captain of the King's Own Guard. I saved his life. I am certain, that if I explain to him the situation, he will agree to help me meet with the king."

"Oh Wil," exclaimed Grace, a smile breaking out on her face like the sun breaking through grey clouds, "this means so much to me." She patted him on his clasped hands. "Thank you," she said.

He nodded. A matching smile on his face. "It is nothing," he said, "just what family does for each other."

"There is one problem Wil," said Grace.

Wilson raised his eyebrows. "What's that?" he asked.

"You are going to have to talk to the Baron first," said Grace.

"Why would I do that?"

"If you don't, the King will probably reject you out of hand," began Grace.

"That's impossible," interrupted Wilson. "He owes me a favor. I already told you that. Don't you believe me?" he raised his voice.

Grace raised her both her hands and lowered them at Wilson. Attempting to calm Wilson. "I know you said he owes you a favor. And I believe you. It isn't that at all."

"What is it then?" asked Wilson somewhat sullenly.

"I just know that you have to work through the system. Last year, Blacksmith Sooty {better name} went directly to the king on a complaint he had against the Baron. Since he never went to the Baron first, the King refused to hear him. The King claims it is to keep the system orderly."

"What happened to the old Sooty?" asked Wilson.

"That is a little beside the point."

"Well, I want to know anyway. What happened to him?"

Grace wrung her hands slightly. "He was thrown in prison by the Baron."

"For what?" asked Wilson.

"For disturbing the peace, breaking the law, and general chicanery. It all sounds rather absurd, I know," said Grace. "But you have to at least attempt to see the Baron first. Otherwise I am afraid the King will have to refuse to see you."

Wilson nodded slowly. "Ok. I'll try and see him tomorrow." He raised his finger to the sky. "But if he refuses me, or refuses to see me, I'm heading straight to the King."

"Wilson," said Grace.

"What?"

"You actually have to see the Town Master first. He is the one that sets the appointments for the Baron."

"Oh. Well then, tomorrow I'll see the Town Master, then the Baron, and then the King," said Wilson.

"Thank you again. This means a lot to me," said Grace.

"Like I said. Without family, a man has nothing." With that, Wilson took his leave and headed back to the tavern.

PandaStripe.jpg

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 2: Part 1 , Part 2
Chapter 3: Part 1 , Part 2,Part 3
Chapter 4:Part 1,Part 2
Chapter 5: Part 1
Chapter 6: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 7: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14:Part 1
Chapter 14:Part 2
Chapter 15:Part 1

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

Very good post story my friend. I like this. Succes for you @bigpanda

Thank you for your kind support my friend @rizasukma.

You are welcome my friend

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.8% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @bigpanda
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 5.97 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bigpanda. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87