December 5 -- Steemit Ramble #132 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

Into December and the last month of the year already. Why does it always seem like January has just happened and we’re suddenly into December? Time just keeps marching on and we lowly humans keep trying to find it to get done what we want.

In among all the holiday preparations, December is a good time to be thinking about what you’d like to accomplish next year. Think big, then break in down into the simpler steps to plan your progress throughout the year.

For all the grumbling that goes on in some quarters, I do think that STEEM and the ecosystem developing around it will continue to grow and develop over the coming year.

Are we going to hit Facebook level adoption? Not very likely, but then Facebook and other popular social media sites didn’t emerge into our awareness fully formed and without issues. Nor have they even attempted to pay users in any manner.

I’ve been fighting a chest cold the last week or so which has been seriously sapping my strength. Feeling better today, I hope that holds.

Onward to today’s rambling

New Signup Service Available from @netuoso - How to open a new Steem blockchain account with your CREDIT CARD

One of the issues STEEM has been having is onboarding people. In an effort to validate people Steemit Inc. does free signups but it can take up to a week to get a new account onboard. There are other options and @netuoso has added a credit card option.

Have a look at @timcliff’s post and then click through the @netuoso’s site to get the picture. Also be sure to read the comments on @timcliff’s post as there are some questions answered there about the service.

SteemRadio - schedule of all the steemit radio shows - what, when, where

Steem radio is becoming a very hot addition to the blockchain. Most of the shows originate on Discord. If you are not on Discord yet, you should be. There are many excellent projects taking place on there which add to the STEEM experience.

@pennsif has put the effort into collating the shows which are currently running and where. Yes, with the launch of the @steemstarnetwork this past Sunday, Pimp Your Post Thursday will become a radio show.

New Steemit Users Analysis Oct & Nov Report – Steemit Business Intelligence

@paulag does some interesting posts using actual numbers to review the state of STEEM. I must confess, some of her posts go right over my head, but that is just me and my own aversion to some stats.

This post is very easy to follow and, to me, does give some positive outlook for the platform. While many complain about the retention rate, and that is a concern, for me, seeing an increasing number of new users actually engaging on the platform will eventually resolve the retention rate.

Thinking Out The Box: Curation Rewards

With all the debate going on about curation rewards on STEEM, it’s long overdue for someone like @meesterboom to put forth the idea of removing curation rewards as they are done here on STEEM. I’ve found calling what amounts to voting rewards ‘curation’ has been really misleading.

This is a definition of social curation: “Social media content curation is simply filtering through all the interesting content across the web and sharing the best news, articles, videos and infographics on your social channels.”

Notice it doesn’t involve any voting? It involves sharing. As @meesterboom has rightly (IMO) pointed out, what currently passes as curation on STEEM is more about a race to vote closest to the beginning on many accounts.

Many actual curation initiatives, like the Steemit Ramble, go on without regard to receiving curation rewards. It’s those initiatives which serve to discover talent on the platform.

Introduce A New Steemian: Meet Excell Fit Life, the Return Missionary Bodybuilder Who Wants to Help You Live a Fit and Healthy Life

Speaking of curation initiatives, @gmuxx has started an initiative designed to encourage members to introduce and bring attention to people new to the platform which show some promise as members of the platform. Great initiative, and one anyone can take part in, individual curation.

@rodeo670 has taken this to heart and has posted a few profiles of new Steemians. Nice work @rodeo670 and this post on @excelfitlife is worth giving a read to and then click through to the profile to welcome this new member.

#thealliance - The Vision

In your travels around Steemit, you likely have come across references to @thealliance and wondered what it is. @enginewitty has sat down to articulate the vision of what @thealliance is.

I’m a member and try to be as active as I can. The most active members help and support each other as much as possible. It’s not just about voting on each others posts, it’s about caring about each other as family and supporting what members are doing. Several alliance members take part in PYPT regularly. It’s much appreciated.

Team Good Gearing Up for Showtime! (Extra Karma Points Included)

If you like following multifaceted individuals, than you need to be following @battleaxe. She’s a great person who cares a lot about the platform. In this post she’s doing a shout out to @sircork and his @youarehope initiate as well as the newly aired @steemstarnetwork radio.

When she’s not being real like this, she writes some pretty cool parody which is always worth reading. @battleaxe has a very pointed perspective on life.

🎄You Are H.O.P.E. Holiday Fundraiser #1🎅

Speaking of family supporting family, @thealliance has posted in support of the @youarehope holiday fundraiser. While you wont get a charitable receipt for this giving, it is totally transparent on the blockchain and you will be providing real help to people in areas where it is desperately needed.

Proud to announce my role in the 'Original Work Initiative' from @humanbot and @carlgnash!

We talked earlier about curation initiatives that are more about finding and sharing quality content than about racing to vote in the right window to receive curation rewards. This is another initiative that is underway and gaining steam that @beautifulbullies has rightly proudly announced her participation in.

end of november into the dawn of december, who knows what tomorrow brings.

This post was nominated by @beautifulbullies

So many live life just a paycheque away from disaster. They make enough to get by as long as no emergencies crop up, then it is disaster. @teamhumble writes honestly and poignantly about this and how even with that hanging over their heads, they can also appreciate the simply things in life.

I live much this way myself. One of the truths that keep me going is, no matter how rough things look, I’m better off than someone else.

@teamhumble you have some writing talent there IMO and apparently @beautifulbullies agrees. Writing is a craft, one that needs constant practice and refinement. The Writers Block on discord has a group of people who could help you with that, you may want to consider joining there.

The Journey to Helping my Autistic Son - Why Banting Changes Lives!

This post was nominated by @sgt-dan

I had never heard of Banting until I read this post and one other from the Facebook group who have joined Steemit. @forloveofbanting writes about the difference Banting has made in her son’s life. What an amazing story and makes me hope we’ll hear more from this group here on Steemit.

Drawitbetter Contest #5 Dragon

This post was nominated by @rodeo670

I always appreciate the talent of artists. It’s something I’ve not taken the time to learn. Like writing, it is a skill and not everyone can do it well. @gailbelga has created a delightful painting of a dragon and taken the time to document the process. Really wonderful painting and great work on describing the process.

Drone Video: Voelklingen Ironworks (Germany / Saarland)

This post was nominated by @steemitgraven29

I can readily see why @steemitgraven29 nominated this post, it’s very impressive. @folker-wulff has produced a stunning video for Stemmit of a drone exploration of the Voelklingen Ironworks, an abandoned industrial complex that is now a UNESCO World Site.

The video is well worth the nine minutes it will take you to explore this site and listen to the excellent narration. Well done @folker-wulff.

Hillbilly 3000

This post was nominated by @battleaxe.

A quick read short story. Short stories challenge is to precisely develop enough of the character(s) for the reader to get a sense of the dynamics at play. @cizzo has accomplished this with an excellent punchline for an ending. Well done.

We are not a civilized society

This post was nominated by @enginewitty.

@guyfawkes4-20 presents a very well thought out treatise on the concept of us not being a civilized society until we are a society without violence and therefore a society without need of standing armies.

I know, you’ll be inclined to dismiss it as an impossible dream. Here’s the thing, if we don’t dream ‘impossible’ dreams, how do we ever decide to strive to change as individuals, community and society? Read with an open, thoughtful mind.

Ice Adventure! A journey through Scotland

This post was nominated by @enginewitty

As I start reading this post, it appears to be about a visit to a Christmas market. Well, it is a visit to a market but it’s a whole lot more. This market includes an exhibition of ice sculptures with a Scottish theme to them. Absolutely amazing sculptures that you get to explore without having to put on a warm coat.

Wrap-up on Day 132

What a great group of posts today covering a wide range of subjects. It was one of those rare days where I spent more time reading the posts than I spent exploring to find them. That’s a nice change and allowed me to curate more posts. Keep up the great work you quality content creators out there.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

steemit ramble

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Until Next Time — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

Wow! Thank you for the mentions! I am so pleased @teamhuble's post made it here too, he really does work tirelessly on his projects and always seems to hit bumps in the road so to speak. Thanks again! :)

some of us do keep hitting bumps. I usually find when I do, it's my own lack of confidence in what I'm doing. But that can be changed.

@shadowspub I'd nominate to curate the geo-political landscape of Planet Earth if I could, think she'd do one hell of a good job ;) thanks for publishing my post and yes I am way pointed. When I am too pointed I do try to file myself down a bit to be a little more "smooth"? <3

oh don't file yourself down too far ... there is a lot to be said for points :)

fun fact: Cheetah's have Claws that do not retract unlike other Big Cats..... I love Cheetahs

I love the name @beautifulbullies ;) reminds me of something in the spirit of my name....like oh so powder puffy , lol , nice to meet u

hehe thank you! :) Nice to meet you too!

This is awesome! I love the concept behind this post, and thanks for having me in it :) and thanks @enginewitty for the nomination.

Absolutely, those were frign amazing. Can only imagine what it would be like in person, thanks for sharing :)

:) In person, freaking cold! lol ;)

that was an awesome post... those ice sculptures and the detail were amazing

Thanks! Weren't they just? I have so much admiration and respect for ice sculptors, it requires such patience and dedication. Would love to watch them work one day :)

Absolutely loved your post. Made me a bit homesick, but in a good way! Really loved Nessie!

Glad to be of service :)

Thank you for this, I appreciate it. It makes me all excited knowing that there are other people that want to make the impossible possible.

Thank you for the nomination @enginewitty. ;)

Yessir, one of the best posts I've read all week, had to drop it in there so Shadow could take a look. Glad she agreed!

Thank you. I had no idea it was that great. I still consider that I have to level up my writing game. :)

I think most people want to make the impossible possible ... I've heard many a war veteran express the wish that they would not mind there being no need for standing armies.

The war veterans lived the horrors of war, it should be normal for them to want to dissolve the armies, but sadly, most of the people don't want to leave their comfort zone. They don't think too big, they don't dream and they don't want to change the world.

Because they like their comfort too much, they will just accept the world as it is without trying to change anything.

there is a certain amount of pragmatism involved as well. Think about if WW1 had indeed been truly seen as the war to end all wars and the powers around the world had stood down their armies. Do you really think it would have stopped the likes of Hitler from coming to power?

As long as the evil arises in even a small number, there will be the danger of needing those armies.

I really don't know what it will take to overcome those who would do evil from ever getting started.

To be honest, I think that the people would need to be more evolved than they are now. And I'm not talking about intellectual improvement where they get good grades in school but about a spiritualized evolution. Enlightenment if you wish.

It would take a lot of years for sure to get to that point but in the end, it would worth it. Probably even decades or centuries.

yes it would take a lot more evolution and generations from where we are now.

Thank you for the mention.

wow, it was lovely to be mentioned. i've never considered myself to be a writer but I do have my moments when it just flows, thanks for noticing in this often vat of white noise internet we live in between ;)

you may want to take those 'moments' and build on them. :)

noted. and thank you.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This is awesome! So many good posts were highlighted. Love that you do this. It is so helpful for so many people on this platform to get more exposure. Plus with all those little blurbs you take to put in. You may be surprised what your words mean to people :)

thank you @topkpop .. I approach the Ramble like a journal of my reading and what I liked on Steemit that day so the blurbs are just a natural part of that sharing.

Thank you so much for appreciating my work and the work of others. Truly, it is such an honor to share something to this wonderful community of Steemit. I look forward to becoming a better artist and teach wonderful techniques to others. Have a great day. We love you. -gail <3

it was a great post .. really appreciated the detail on the process you showed.

Thank you so much. You can also check my other posts, not that you should recommend it next time, but rather just take time to check it out for feedback. Thank you and more power <3

Cool I am so glad you gave @beautifulbullies post a shoutout here! To readers interested in the Human Certified Original Works initiative, my "unofficial mission statement" is a good place to start:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

I love what you are doing here @shadowspub! Keep up the awesome work!

Cheers - Carl "Humanbot" Gnash

Thank you @carlgnash .. I've noticed your work on your Certified Original Works initiative and appreciated it as well. There is room for lots of curation initiatives focused on finding quality posts.

I’ve been fighting a chest cold the last week or so which has been seriously sapping my strength. Feeling better today, I hope that holds.

Please take care of yourself.

I am seeing something clearly today. Anytime I am seeing your DP, it always look like a mask but today, I decided to look more closely and I found out it is somethings for a writer. A scroll. an ink bottle and a feather pen or what is it called? hahahahah

@seyiodus.

You got it... the feather pen is a quill .... rather old fashioned word processing equipment. I was on the phone with a friend yesterday and her husband interrupted briefly.. she told me he was looking for his ipad.. I just responded with "oh, don't want to lose that"... she laughed and said.. it's a writing pad .. most people fall for his euphemism. I know I did LOL

Yeah. Quill. It really nice. Some people still prefer the old fashion way but use the modern way as a storage. How I wish I am a writer. Even the smallest writer is being respected since they impact knowledge through their writing. Thanks.

writing is a skill that is honed over time and practice.. you are getting there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49